Macbook air mic "problem".

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by orfeas0, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #1
    Hey there. I was trying to watch a movie on skype with a friend (and I have a macbook air 11"), but obviously he was hearing my sounds from the mic+speakers.
    So I connected my iPhone's earbuds, and it used them for both input and output.
    The problem is, he was still hearing everything twice. And when I tried lowering the mic's input volume, it automatically went to full mic volume after a while...!
    So, is there a way to:
    1) Reduce mic volume permanently, OR
    2) Use iPhone's eardbuds just for the sound and not the mic?
    Thank you.

    edit: Forgot to say that when you plug apple's earbuds, it recognizes their mic as internal, so I can't change that from the settings :S
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    johnhurley

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #2
    Does the microphone from the apple earbuds also not show up in input devices ( system preferences aka sound ) after it has been plugged in?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #3
    It does show up but it takes the place of the internal microphone.
    Where it says internal microphone, when I plug-in the earbuds, it changes to external microphone.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #5
    Does anyone know a solution for this problem?
    I mean can't I disable the automatic adjustment of my mic's volume??
    oh and also, skype for mac doesn't have mic options like the windows version does :S
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #7
    Thanks a lot my friend, especially for creating an account just to post this!
    I'll see if it works though, because I think it's not the thing I needed o_O
     

Share This Page