macbook air problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by sm1992, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #1
    ok i have a macbook air (no hdd inside)

    but i have a weird fault

    i switch it on and it just gives a black screen, but i can hear the startup chime.

    what wrong? can it be the graphics card?

    pleaase help
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    #2
    HDD is always a start.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #3
    is the screen powered on and black, or does it not turn on at all?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #4
    look to your 'F2' button and hold it down for a bit to ensure your screen is at full brightness

    after that try to zap the PRAM - hold down command + option + p + r upon startup until you hear the chime 3 or 4 times
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #5
    WOW quick replies!

    ok, i dont want to waste money on a hdd atm, until i get somthing on the screen of the mac, because the macbook air actually takes a pata zif drive, and hopefully if i solve this problem then im planning on getting an Ssd :cool:

    i tried the f2 button, no luck

    and the screen stays black (with no power) same as when its off
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #6
    call Apple or take it to an Apple Store if you have one nearby - warranty :D
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
  8. macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #8
    The fact that it chimes is interesting. Check to make sure the display is still connected inside the air. Also, if you have access to a micro dvi adaptor, you could check to see if it gives you the grey screen on an external (start the machine in clamshell mode with the power connected)
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #9
    aaah - so sorry - should have read your post more carefully :eek:
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #10
    what do i need for clamshell mode?
     

Share This Page