Macbook Air with 4gb ram..can you only get online from Apple?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by one028, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #1
    I bought a Macbook Air from Bestbuy..it has the 2gb of Ram..for an extra $100, I would like to get the 4gb...is the only way to get that configuration is to order it from Apple? or can you get it at best buy or the apple store..
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #2
    Apple store has them.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #3
    is there really that much performance improvement with the 4gb vs the 2gb?
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #4
    in my experience, only certain (busier) stores will stock alternate configurations. call ahead. it's always nice to have extra RAM, but you'll only notice in more memory intensive apps.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    grawk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Southern York County, PA
    #5
    I got mine from macmall...
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #6
    Indeed. FWIW, I got mine in December from PowerMax. They had a number of alternate configurations in stock.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #7
    there is a store on amazon with decent feedback that is selling the 1.4 ghz 4 gb ram config. macmall also has 4 gb ram variations
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #8
    My Apple Store only had the Ultimate of each version with 4GB. I got lucky and a refurbished unit came up on apples website. For $100 the RAM can't hurt.
    It's really the most reasonable of all the upgrades.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #9
    Personally, I'm incredibly surprised that the MacBook Airs don't all have 4Gb of RAM as standard. All of my machines (iMac, MacBook Pro) have 8Gb in them, and even then I start to hit that ceiling when I have a few applications open!

    4Gb is the bare minimum these days, in my opinion.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #10
    ...

    If you are in Canada you can get it from futureshop.ca they carry them in the online store...not only that but they seem to have a price error last time I checked and the 4gb is only $50 more than the 2gb not $100 more like on the apple site
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    fswmacguy

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #11
    Jesus Christ, are you kidding? Are you editing an IMAX film in Final Cut while mixing the Boston Philharmonic in Logic Pro? :eek:


    To answer OPs question: The memory is not like previous MacBook models where you could change it out yourself. The memory on the new MBA is literally soldered to the motherboard. At this time there is no reliable or necessarily safe way to add RAM besides changing out the motherboard or exchanging the MBA altogether.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    torbjoern

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    The Black Lodge
    #12
    Are you running virtual machines?
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #13
    Ha, close — I'm a developer by day and an amateur photographer by night.

    For development, I have a few virtual machines with "clean" installations of Mac OS X Server, Windows XP and Windows 7 for testing. Xcode + Mail, iTunes, etc + VMWare pretty much fills 8Gb.

    For photography, I use Aperture, which uses as much memory as you have, it would seem. There's definitely a difference in Aperture's performance between 4Gb and 8Gb when working with large RAW files.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    #14
    In Australia most stores like JB HiFi / David Jones / Apple Stores / Next Byte etc only have the 2GB models in stock, and if you want the 4GB version you have to go CTO online for it to be custom built for you. Hence why I purchased online and my MBA 13" / 1.8GHz / 128 SSD / 4GB Ram should arrive tomorrow. Even the Official Apple store at Chermside in Brisbane's northern suburbs only has the 2GB versions in stock - very odd indeed.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #15
    me too :) save a few bucks over apple.com

    go with the 4gig of ram
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #16
    Then what you meant to say was bare minimum--for me. Some of us do just fine with 2GB of RAM. :)
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    #17
    Does anyone know whether the UK Apple Stores stock the 4GB versions too? It seems the stores in Australia don't, so its not the same everywhere.

    My wallet is getting twitchy and my credit card is upset because I haven't used it for weeks...
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    #18
    i got mine from macmall 1.4ghz.4gbram.128ssd for 1230$, u can go to appleinsider.com they have a price chart with them which compares prices of all resellers with apple store
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    #19
    no if you're doing basic stuff like word and web browsing. if you have more stuff going on at the same time things will run smoother with 4gb.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    #20
    What about when running Parallels or Bootcamp? I'd imagine that eats up RAM pretty quick.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    christophermdia

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #21
    I got the 4gb for this mainly, i cant comment on what 2gb would be like, but running parallels with video streaming and working on word and excel at the same time in the mac environment runs really smooth on my Air....
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #22
    picked up a 4GB ultimate from the Apple store in the mall, I was impressed they had it.
     
  23. ritmomundo, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011

    macrumors 68000

    ritmomundo

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Bel Air, CA
    #23
    -----
     

Share This Page