Macbook Buying Questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by animenick65, Oct 11, 2006.

1. animenick65 macrumors 6502

Ok...so I have a chance to buy a used 6 month old white macbook with a 60gig hard drive and all that good stuff. Guy has all the documentation and remote and what not. I'm a photographer and will mostly be using it to display pictures to people during meetings and such. The guy is selling it for $700. Is this thing a powerhouse? is this a good deal? Thanks for your help.

-Nick

2. generik macrumors 601

generik

The glossy screen and off-colour LCD is a put off, at least in my experience.

I won't touch it if I were a photographer.

3. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

Veritas&Equitas

Yeah, if photography is your game, the Macbook is not the name [you want]. I concur with generik, unless you'll just use it for *****s and giggles, and not photography stuff. It's a great price for a Macbook, but not if photography is all you're gonna use it for.

4. animenick65 thread starter macrumors 6502

Yea i'll just be using it for showing pictures, music, and surfing the web. Id have to spend another $2500 on top of the 700 to get anything that would work well for a digital workflow. I'll end up getting a mac pro later on for that. It doesn't have a glossy screen btw.

5. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

Veritas&Equitas

If that's what you are going to be doing, I would've already given him the cash without even hesitating .2 seconds ago. In fact, buy it from him, and sell it to me for $800, and pocket the $100 to get yourself something nice without even doing anything! I'm in the market for one, and I'd buy it!

6. animenick65 thread starter macrumors 6502

Haha....thanks but I think i'm gonna get it :) thanks for all your help and i'm sure i'll have some upcoming questions as this is my first MAC (although I do work on one at work so i'm fairly experienced)

7. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

Veritas&Equitas