MacBook Cannot Connec to Internet:-

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by XP Defector, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. XP Defector macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #1
    Hi all, MacBook came today, very impressed.

    Anyway, I'm using Tiscali ADSL Broadband at the moment. The DSL modem is a SAGEM 800 I think. The modem itself has two connections, one goes straight into the wall. The other is a USB connection which plugs into the computer. I installed the modem on to my MacBook (Installing stuff on Macs is so much easier lol) but cant seem to connect. Is my MacBook not compatible with this or something? I have the options of 'built-in Ethernet, Airpor and VPN (L2TP) ((What is VPN btw?)). Is my Mac not detecting my modem? How do you check if it knows its there or not? On the setup notes, it has picutres of that drop down menu that looks like <---> on the bar at the top, with "Adaptateur Ethernet (en8)" as well as "Airport" etc, but mine does not have this?

    Any help is appriciated.
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    There have been many problems with USB connections to modems and intel-based Macs. Honestly, my advice is to ask for a router with a proper Ethernet connection, this will save you headaches in the end. Or, buy your own, since they are pretty cheap nowadays.

    BTW, VPN is virtual private network, which doesn't apply to your situation.
     
  3. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Unfotunately, that modem is not compatible with Intel macs - Sagem hasn't updated their drivers yet. I had the same problem last week.

    However, if you call Tiscali and explain, they'll send you out a new modem that apparently is compatible. It'll mean a week wait, but hey.
     
  4. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #4
    Ah excellent, thanks for the help.

    On the plus side, at least its Tiscali and not my mac that's at fault!!! I'll just have to put up with windows when I use the net a few days longer!
     
  5. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #5
    I received a speedtouch 330, with still no luck. Using the latest drivers downloaded from the offical site as well. They install ok, but my MAC refuses to acknowledge that the USB modem exists. Any suggestions?
     
  6. fatties macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #6
    i am on tiscali as well, and the sagems kept packing out (2 i think)and disconnecting and doing stupid things even on a pc. not sure about speedtouch though. finally i got a linksys- you can get wireless or ethernet ones... and for some reason, suddenly everything worked faster- honest! and i personally find the linksys about 100 times more stable than the sagems i got from them...

    oh- and another thing.... (i keep having to edit this post) is your new speedtouch running on the mb power or does it have its own charger? because one of the things I've experienced with the usb modem and a laptop (but then it was a vaio so not sure about the mb) is that there was an 'energy' crisis going on inside the laptop and the computer basically cannot power all those goodies we have connected simutaneously (i am guessing this includes the ones built in like dvd and isight- i had nothing connected and it still complained) which might be also why the mac doesn't like the modem... just my 2 cents, i am no computer genius though...

    and if you ever change providers at least you know you have a good product to hand instead of another 'hit or miss' as these freebies/cheapies are rarely quality goods - like the rams in my mb apparently :(

    ok. now i sound too much like a linksys salesperson. which i am not. but defo get one... i think i got my linksys wired for about 35 8 months ago and the wireless for 70 2 years ago, so they must be cheaper now.
     
  7. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    From the Speedtouch site (no idea what it means mind):

    I have a SpeedTouch 330 connected to an Apple Mac running OSX, the driver is installed, but I cannot get the Mac to recognise the SpeedTouch 330
    Most likely this is because the BSD subsystem has been removed, or not installed from within OSX.

    Check that the BSD subsystem is installed:
    Launch Terminal from Applications/Utilities.
    At the terminal prompt type grep and hit the Enter key.
    If the response is "Command not found", this means that the BSD subsystem is NOT installed.
    Type exit and press Enter to close the Terminal session.

    To manually install the BSD subsystem:
    Insert your MacOS X install CD #1. in to the Macs CD drive.
    Search the CD for the BSD SubSystem.pkg
    install the package by double-clicking on it's icon.
    Complete the installation and then restart the Apple Mac
     
  8. mastersbrowne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #8
    having the same problem you had!!

    Hi there, I hope and expect that you are fully sorted with your new macbook and internet connetion now! I have recently bought a macbook and have a sagem 800 modem through tiscali just as you did. I am really struggling to connect to the internet. The mac doesn't seem to recognise the usb modem and I don't understand why....Can you help me!? Please!
     
  9. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #9

    Is a USB modem your only option? I'd ask your provider to give you a proper ethernet-enabled router if possible. It'll make your life much easier.
     
  10. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Check the Sagem website and see if they've updated their drivers yet. Otherwise, as my post above says, that modem is not compatible with Intel macs and you'll need to get Tiscali to send you a different model as a replacement.
     

Share This Page