Macbook+ External display?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by asphalt-proof, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. asphalt-proof macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Location:
    Magrathea
    #1
    I am planning on buying a macbook or macbook pro later on this year. I want to be able to hool it up to a 24" or bigger display. Is this possible with the macbook or would I have to get the pro instead. Mainly, this will setup will be for watching movies/tv shows in the bedroom, light gaming, and iLife stuff. I want to be able to do this with the macbook to keep the cost down.

    Also, can the laptops be run with the lids closed (for movie watching)? Thanks in advance.
    Pete
     
  2. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #2
    Can't hook it up to a 30 incher. 23/24 is highest it will go.

    Yes
     
  3. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #3
    For larger than 24" you will need the pro. There's a thread down lower about someone having problems with a 23" display, you might want to have a hunt about for it. I saw it a little while ago.

    They can work with the lid closed - just hook it up with the lid closed and plug in a usb device to wake up the laptop.
     
  4. asphalt-proof thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Location:
    Magrathea
    #4
    Thanks for the information. I was wondering... if the display was NOT an ACD would it still require a dual dvi? I really doubt that I will go higher than 24" but you never know.:D
     
  5. asphalt-proof thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Location:
    Magrathea
    #5
    When you say 'Pro" are you referring to the MBP or the Big Mac Pro (the desktop)?
     
  6. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #6
    MacBook Pro - it has Dual-Link DVI which is capable of running a 30" ACD.
     
  7. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #7
    Well, both. The MacBook can only run an Apple Cinema Display of up to 23 inches. It can also run a 3rd party monitor (say from Dell) which can be 24 inches because they are the same resolution.

    Here's an example of a MacBook + Dell display.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=2722931&postcount=5543
     
  8. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #8
    As soon as I can afford it, I'll be getting an external display for my MB so this thread has been very useful. I want to find a monitor that is both good looking and affordable though and I'm having real issues.
     
  9. wilk0076 macrumors member

    wilk0076

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    #9

    Note that it will only work closed if the A/C adapter is plugged in, as well.
     
  10. Caitlyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #10
    I plan to get a 20" Apple Cinema Display once I have a desk. :)
     
  11. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #11
    Yes a 24 inch will work fine with the Macbook.

    Also the 30 inch monitor will not work with the Macbook but a 30 inch TV will, the difference is in the resolution not the screen size.

    Also you can run the Macbook with the lid close using a usb mouse or keyboard or using an app called insomniacx

    http://semaja2.net/insomniaxinfo
     
  12. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #12
    Just to be clear - computer monitors and TVs are different. If you bought a 42" Plasma TV odds are the Macbook would run it fine.
     
  13. asphalt-proof thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Location:
    Magrathea
    #13
    Would the macbook run a 42" LCD TV? I know there is a difference betweena tv and a computer monitor but do the icons come out fuzzy, the resolution noticably less on the TV? Would games look crappy?
     
  14. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #14
    Yes the macbook could drive a 42 inch LCD, icons and text will look fuzzy but when you're watching HD or ED videos or playing games it should be fine. Just don't do work on a 42 inch LCD.
     
  15. jerkstore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Location:
    Vegas
    #15
    Widescreen?

    If I were to buy a third party monitor, does it have to be of widescreen resolution to work with the macbook? I'm not sure how the resolution would translate to the external monitor. Thanks!
     
  16. drake macrumors 6502a

    drake

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #16
    To run the 24" at native resolution, you need to connect DVI not VGA however. Big drawback. I'd like to connect my Dell 2405 to my VGA while my PC is running through the DVI.
     
  17. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #17
    Doesn't have to be widescreen, it's treated as a separate desktop so it will run at it's native resolution.

    I think the largest 4:3 screen you could plug in would have a resolution of 1600x1200 (not many 4:3 LCDs with resolutions higher than that) so you'd have the internal display running at 1280x800 and the external running at 1600x1200 (or whatever the native res is of your other screen), but it doesn't have to be a widescreen display.
     
  18. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #18
    yepp. i have my MB hooked up to a Dell 1907.. not widescreen, but it works well.

    i'd definitely prefer a widescreen though.. so if you can afford it, i'd suggest it.
     
  19. bigrell486 macrumors 6502

    bigrell486

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #19
    The regular Macbook can only go upto 23' while the pro can go to 30' maybe even more
     

Share This Page