Macbook Fire Wire Chipset & Pro Tools LE?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by bbass, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    #1
    Digidesign will be announcing Leopard compatibility for Pro Tools LE very shortly and I would like to purchase a macbook for use with an mbox 2 or 003 rack for recording audio. With both products an external fire wire hard drive for recording audio is a requirement.

    Some fire wire audio interfaces are experiencing problems with the newer macbooks which have the Lucent or Agere fire wire chipsets. What has been reported on a another forum is that these chip sets cause the fire wire interfaces to issue a fire wire bus reset shortly after start of data transmission. For detailed information please see the link below.

    http://www.gearslutz.com/board/musi...-mean-trouble-built-after-october-2007-a.html

    To those of you who were able to purchase your new macbooks yesterday the way to determine what fire wire chip set is By pressing "Command-S" (single user mode) while booting you can see the information about half way down the page.

    Could someone please check to see which fire wire chipsets are being supplied in the new macbooks?

    Thank you
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    tremendous

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    UK? Yeah I'm OK. Stop asking.
    #2
    crikey. Was not aware of this - if it isn't fixed within a few months, looks like i might have to ditch apple when my powerbook finally needs replacing.

    Not good news at all.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    tremendous

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    UK? Yeah I'm OK. Stop asking.
    #3
    So has anybody had the chance to check? I'm very curious to know, as this might change a lot of things...
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    tremendous

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    UK? Yeah I'm OK. Stop asking.
    #4
    I just went to the Glasgow Apple store and checked...

    Lucent 5811 on all Macbooks and TI 8025 on the pros.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    #5
    was that the new pro's or the santa-rosa ones?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    tremendous

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    UK? Yeah I'm OK. Stop asking.
    #6
    sorry, i wasn't clear - the brand new ones.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,830
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Did you go round rebooting all the machines into single user, or is there a quicker way of checking?

    Are there issues with the TI 8025, anyone know?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    #8
    From what I've read, TI chipsets are the recommended option, it's one of the reason I decided on a penryn MBP...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    #9

    Tremendous, thanks for checking that out. It's a huge deal. I'm very happy for your finding on the MBP but also puzzled. Did Apple acknowledge the issues and switch back for these? I'd be impressed by that if it's the case.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    #10
    Macbook Fire Wire Chipset & Pro Tools LE?

    Thank you for taking the time to check the fire wire chipsets.

    To all of you computer experts can a fire wire bus reset shortly after start of data transmission be corrected with a driver update?
     

Share This Page