macbook hard disc making unusual noises

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Aegelward, Jun 25, 2006.

  1. Aegelward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    okay. to get to the jist of it my macbooks hard drive has been making some strange noises.

    reguarally every few secconds it makes a noise thats almost like a "tick", reguardless of other disc activity that may be going on. this has only started occouring today. i havent restarted yet.. but fundementally it should not be making this noise.

    i was considering upgrading to a larger disc in the next few months, and if my disc holds out untill then, thats fine. but if anything should happen any advice. i'll shut down for a while and see if that makes any diffrence shortly.
     
  2. batman123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    Some Place Only You Know...
    #2
    Well if it hasnt been making these noises and it agree that it isnt normal. I strongly advise you to backup any of your important data on your HD.
    Try doing a search for HD noises, im pretty sure that some other people have had this "tick". :)

    Batman.
     
  3. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    I mentioned it in a thread here but people claimed I was just being pedantic.

    What type and size of hdd do you have? I was going to return my Seagate Momentus today.
     
  4. Aegelward thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    after shutting down for a couple of hours, the problem has gone to way, i'm glad to say.

    but i have the stock fujitsu 60 gig drive.

    - ps. if anyone can point me in the direction of a tutorial to slim down os x it would be apreciated
     
  5. wxboss macrumors member

    wxboss

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Jax, FL
    #5
    I posted the same thing in Apple's forum a while back when I first got the MB. I noticed it about a week after getting it.

    I've pretty much come to the conclusion that it's normal. I did install SMARTReporter just to give me some peace of mind.
     

Share This Page