Macbook is frozen and wont turn off..

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by imamacdummy, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. imamacdummy, Dec 18, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #1
    okay so i was on the computer last night and closed the computer with twitter still up as i went to bed, well when i woke up this morning the computer was going really slow and it gave me enough time to change the wireless connection and then it froze. It wont let me do anything. At first i was pressing the power button and a screen popped up that says, " restart, Sleep, Cancle and Shutdown" but it wont let me press anything to them. I have tried everything like the keyboard shut down, the escape and holding the power button down for 10 secs and so on. I can still hear its running, and the battery is slowly dieing so thats a good thing i think. Also the screen goes black and the only way i can get it to light back up is by holding the power button.. Please help! Its on a Macbook laptop!
     
  2. macrumors member

    jmjoh122

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    try unplugging it and pulling out the battery
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
  4. macrumors member

    jmjoh122

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Location:
    VA
  5. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Press and hold the power button for longer, until it goes off. It should power off in less than 10 seconds, but it could take longer. There is no need to take the battery out, especially if it's a built-in battery. (You didn't mention what model you have, and some MacBooks have removable batteries, some don't.)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #6
    nah its okay, my fault should of added that in there.

    ----------

    i just tried that, that box that says "restart, sleep, cancle and shutdown" is still there and i think thats the reason its not doing anything. its never done that before..
     
  7. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Did you select shutdown? If the trackpad doesn't respond, try using the keyboard.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #8
    yeah shutdown is highlighted blue but it dosent respond when i press enter or try and move the arrown with the keyboard
     
  9. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Do you have an external keyboard you can connect? Also, do you have another Mac that you could connect via Screen Sharing?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #10
    I dont have either :( the only other apple i have is an ipod touch would that help and i also have an hp and dell..
     
  11. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Which model MacBook is it?
     
  12. macrumors demi-god

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Pull the power cord and wait for it to go flat!
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #13
    the 13 inch, and its either the late 2009 one or the mid 2010 one..
     
  14. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    Well, all MacBooks are 13 inch, but yours has the built-in battery, so it sounds like your only choice is to wait for the battery to die. Leave it unplugged and let it die on its own. Then plug it in and power it up. That might be all you need to resolve the problem.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #15
    okay THANK YOU SO MUCH! so i just plug it into the wall after it dies and the turn it on, i read somewhere else you put some disk in should i do that?
     
  16. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    No, just plug it in and turn it on.
     

Share This Page