MacBook Issues

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by malibuboats91, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. malibuboats91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #1
    I have an aluminum and glass MacBook that I bought right after they came out with them. It has a 2GHz processor, 2 GB of memory and OS X Lion.

    For a few months before lion came out I noticed it slowing down a little. I was thinking about dumping everything off of it like I do with my PC, but didn't have time or know if that's what oh do with macs. I got lion and it seemed to slow down even more.

    Today I was online and all of a sudden the web pages started scrolling without me doing anything. I went to quit safari and the menu was scrolling. Everywhere I went it wouldn't quit scrolling. Finally I got it shut down and turned it back on. It works good now but slow.

    Now my questions is, what should I do to fix the slowness? I run disc utility sometimes and it doesn't seem to help. I have everything backed up on my time capsule so if dumping it is the best option I think I should be good. If you recommend to dump it, how should I do it? Thanks


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=44.934964,-89.620398
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    There's no need to dump it. It just takes some troubleshooting to determine the source of the problems. Let's start here: Performance tips for Mac OS X
     
  3. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #3
    First, 2Gb little for lion, even with snow leopard I think 4Gb is better.
    If you think you have any hardware problem just run the AHT CD that came with your computer (that one that says "press D to...").
    About performance tips, I only use Onyx, but sometimes a full re-install is needed.
     
  4. malibuboats91 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for the replies. I went through that list of things and haven't noticed much of a change.
     
  5. Sonhascome macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
    #5
    It could be your hard drive dying, mine was doing the same thing, and it was the HD
     
  6. malibuboats91, Dec 22, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011

    malibuboats91 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #6
    Thats an idea. I don't want to buy a new hd if i'm not sure though.

    Here are examples:
    -Typing this post, the text on screen doesn't keep up with my typing and i don't type that fast.
    -If I click file or anything the response is really slow
    -Startup takes forever
    -Opening apps takes a long time
    -When changing the volume, the menu pops up on the screen seconds after I adjust it

    I have been reading posts about people having this issue after installing lion and they say to reinstall it. I have everything backed up on my time capsule but it would be great if i could solve this without wiping everything
     
  7. malibuboats91 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #7
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)
     
  9. malibuboats91 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #9
    Thanks! Apple says the maximum ram I can have is 4gb and that one website you gave me says 8gb. I'm a college student and use my Mac mostly for internet browsing, iTunes and iWork. Would it be beneficial to do the 8? Or should I play it safe and do the 4?


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=44.934853,-89.620337
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Chances are high that you'll never need more than 4GB. You can always add RAM later if you find you need it. The longer you wait to buy, the lower the price will be.

    By the way, you don't have to add that "I am here:" to every post you make. Just put it in your signature.

    From Forum Rules:
     
  11. malibuboats91 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #11
    Okay I didn't think so. What brand would you recommend?


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=44.934899,-89.620396
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    MR Guide to Buying RAM
     
  13. malibuboats91 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #13
    I bought 4gb of crucial memory for my MacBook and installed it today. Haven't had a chance to play around with it much. Is there any tests or anything I should run or is it good to go?


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=44.934782,-89.620441
     
  14. kaydot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #14
    Have you checked your activity monitor for any runaway processes or Apps? I have often encountered that browsers/plugin combinations can cause runaway threads taking up 50% or even 100% of your CPU.
     
  15. malibuboats91 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #15
    How do I check for that? So far my system memory free is 2.5gb and page outs are 0bytes. CPU % user is 1.25, %system is 1.75, % idle is 95, threads is 443 and processes is 90. Disc usage is 40gb utilized and 118.5 free. I don't know what any of that means but here is some info
     

Share This Page