MacBook Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by XP Defector, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. XP Defector macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #1
    Just a minor issue and wondered if anyone else has experienced this:-

    Basically, often my Macbook just 'pauses' for a couple of seconds, I can tell because the pointer freezes. Is this just because I've low RAM? (512)
     
  2. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #2
    What are you doing while this happens? You say sometimes, when is this? It might be because you have 512 MB RAM, but not sure... Be more specific...;)
     
  3. FullmetalZ26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #3
    Open up System Preferences, then go to the Keyboard and Mouse section. Select the Trackpad tab, and uncheck "Ignore accidental trackpad input" at the bottom of the window. That ought to take care of it.
     
  4. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #4
    i can't say that it happens on my macbook, but i have 2GB of ram
     
  5. gman71882 macrumors 6502

    gman71882

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #5
    My sisters macbook has been doing the same thing, but shes got 1 GB of RAM in it, so that shouldnt be causing the issue.
    If your running alot of programs through Rosetta like Office(Word), or Any Adobe / Macromedia products etc.., then you'll likely see a slowdown like that, which is due to the emulation software. Only thing you can do with that is add more RAM to try and help it out.

    Im trying to figure out exactly whats causing the slowdown on her machine, if i can figure it out ill post it here.
     
  6. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    #6
    Cheers, I thought it might be hardware issues i.e. I'm over-loading the CPU/memory but I figured a Duel Intel 2.00ghz shouldn't be breaking a sweat.

    Has anyone else upgraded from 512 to 2GIG? Is the difference outstanding and worth the 150 quid? Cheers
     
  7. FullmetalZ26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #7
    Adding at least a 1GB stick is worthwhile, especially if you're using any PowerPC apps that would be depending on Rosetta. I'd recommend just getting a single 1GB stick and adding it with an existing 256, and getting a second 1GB later when prices make it worthwhile.

    Also, have you tried disabling the ignore trackpad input I mentioned above? I had this same problem when I first got my MacBook, and it took care of it.
     
  8. spriter macrumors 65816

    spriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #8
    Yes and yes. Don't forget 64MB is used on the GMA. I use Parallels and Photoshop so I need the extra RAM but refinitely bump it to 1GB but 2GB is optimum and you won't ever need to go further.

    I wouldn't run mismatched pairs (sizes and manufacturers) though.
     
  9. XP Defector thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
  10. Unspeaked macrumors 68020

    Unspeaked

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    West Coast
    #10
    Are you sure this isn't the trackpad issue a lot of MacBook users have been reporting?

    Do you have seconds showing in your clock? Is it actually "freezing" (as in, the clock stops) or is it just the cursor that freezes?

    You may need to adjust the settings in your Mouse preference pane.
     
  11. JAT macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #11
    Go ahead. Break the mold! Be daring.

    Seriously, running 1.25GB here with one 3rd party 1GB stick and the original Apple 256MB stick. The speedup for Rosetta apps, Parallels, or just having many apps open is instant and huge. I haven't been arrested for not pairing my RAM. And it is working very well.

    All Apple Intel computers (probably anything running Tiger, actually) should have at least 1GB of RAM, Apple is doing a disservice to people by making 512MB the standard, so you should upgrade.
     

Share This Page