macbook newbie day FIREFOX question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fallacy, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. fallacy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #1
    Hey all,

    Just got my macbook, it rocks. Started using the handy trackpad feature double tapping all over internet and heard there might be a plug in for firefox that allows you to go "back" and "forward" with a simple finger motion on the trackpad.. have any of you fine people come across this, and do you have the link? can't seem to locate this on mozilla's page..

    thx.
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    well how about try
    “delete” for back
    "cmd+->" for forward.
     
  3. farqueue macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #3
    doesnt wurk
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    For mouse gestures you need an add-on, like this one (though it says something about dropping Mac support...)

    Edit: Tried it and it seems to work as it should, click and move left for back and click and move right for forward... :)

    Hmmm... cmd-leftarrow for back and cmd-rightarrow has always worked for me... :confused:
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    Two finger horizontal scrolling on the trackpad make it go back and forth and it drives me crazy, which isn't too far. :D
     
  7. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #7
    Hmm... on my MacBook two finger horizontal scrolling is just that... horizontal scrolling... doesn't go back and forth... :confused:

    Have you been messing with some settings you shouldn't...? ;)
     
  8. fallacy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #8
    thx guy, tried downloading the plugin and wasn't too crazy about it.. I'll stick with the double tap feature.

    cheers.
     
  9. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    No, and there have been various threads about the problem/feature.

    Of course, you're not using a production version of Firefox, are you? You're using version 20 or something, right? :D
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    Oh, yes... not quite 20, though... yet... :D

    Just "downgraded" from Minefield 3.0a1 to Firefox 2.0b2.... ;)
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Oh, so wait... in the production version of Firefox, you can fix this with a very simple preferences change... in the version you and Mitthrawnuruodo use... can you not change it to do what you want?

    Once you change the .js file... as long as you're using the same Firefox profile, it should *stay* fixed permanently....
     
  12. Woody56292 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #12
    yeah I only use mouse gestures for opening up a new tab. ( simple as right click + up ) saves me alot of time.[​IMG]
     
  13. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #13
    I did fix it a long time ago, but I can't remember how. Still, I deleted my default profile recently thinking that corruption was causing problems. Apparently, the fix is somewhere else, though I couldn't identify it with about:config and searching on "scroll" so there has to be an old thread that tells how to fix it--or un-fix it.
     
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    Like this.
     

Share This Page