Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mactom

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2006
Hey guys im a graphic designer and have been told by the apple store here in london that a macbook does not run Adobe Illustrator- i have been told that it does by friends? Im confused and dont trust the attitude-riddles apple floor-staff! I initially wnated a macbook due to its small size and weight- and as i am only doing vector based design and photoshop thought it would be fine...

Can anyone help me decide betwwen the mac book and pro?

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Macbook Pro is a nicer machine, and with the additional graphics support it would probably be a better choice for you. The 15 inch MBP, in my opinion, is a GREAT size for a portable. yes, the Macbook is obviously smaller, but the MBP is by no means unwieldy.

If Adobe Illustrator runs on a Macbook Pro, it should run on a Macbook. I don't know the system requirements for Illustrator though, so I could be wrong.

displaced

macrumors 65816
Jun 23, 2003
Gravesend, United Kingdom
miles01110 said:
Macbook Pro is a nicer machine, and with the additional graphics support it would probably be a better choice for you. The 15 inch MBP, in my opinion, is a GREAT size for a portable. yes, the Macbook is obviously smaller, but the MBP is by no means unwieldy.

If Adobe Illustrator runs on a Macbook Pro, it should run on a Macbook. I don't know the system requirements for Illustrator though, so I could be wrong.

I can't imagine for a second that Illustrator wouldn't run on the MacBook.

However, you may well make use of the extra screen real-estate and resolution of the 15" screen of the MacBook Pro, especially for graphics work. Also, although the MBP is larger than the MacBook, it seems... well, svelter. I'm not sure if it's actually thinner, but it's certainly plenty portable.

brandon6684