Macbook or Powerbook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Reem, Jul 31, 2006.

1. Reem macrumors member

Reem

Hi all, :D

I am kind of new to the MAC world... I once had the really old ibook with the handle a long time ago..and I never got a new Mac due to some problems I faced! :(

But now, I want to go back to MAC because many things were developed and I missed using a Mac! So, now I am confused between the Powerbook12 inch or the White Macbook 2Ghz ? I really love the size of the Macbook but I am worried about the intel processor...?:confused:

Please advice me on the best ! :eek:

2. LoveMacMini macrumors regular

Intel based Mac's are faster

Quality control is laughable right now

WWDC is in less than 8 days, new hardware might get announced, that means old hardware becomes cheaper.

3. Josias macrumors 68000

Josias

Processor: MacBook is 5x faster

RAM: MacBook has support for up to 2 GB RAM, 12" PB has support for 1.25 GB. The MacBook RAM is 2x faster.

GPU: The PB's 64 MB FX Go5200 beats the 64 MB GMA/950.

Display: MacBook has a 13" widescreen with 1280x800. The PB has a 12" screen with 1024x768. The MB is also much brighter, and has better quality all-over.

Thickness: PB is 3 cm, while MB is 2.75 cm. A noticeable difference.

Connectors: Same, MacBook has digital audio I/O and Gbit Ethernet.

Drive: MacBook has 4x DVD+/-RW. Dunno about the PB.

iSight and FrontRow: Only on MB.

Wieght: PB is 2.1 kg, while MB is 2.36 kg. 260 g is nothing.

Price: Get a refurb. MacBook, and you're well off!

Everything else is the same.

Unless you're gonna work PhotoShop, I'd advice you to go with the MB, they're so cool. And yeah, wait for WWDC, I think CS3 might be released, Intel native...:D Also, MB is not getting a pricedrop.;)

4. Satori macrumors 6502a

Satori

It's going to become increasingly difficult to purchase a new 12"PBook as they were discontinued a few months back (you'll need to buy a refurb or find a reseller that still has some old stock).