Macbook PC network help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by breakfastcrew, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. breakfastcrew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #1
    Here is my router model http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProd...=&Section_Id=201526&pcount=&Product_Id=179477 anyone familar with belkin stuff??? How do I set up my router so that my macbook can connect to it? From my macbook I can see my network I just can't connect to it. I can connect to my neigbors's network fine. Also my router is not broken because my dell laptop still connects to it. Is there something I have to do to my router's settings before my mac can connect to it?? I have read the sticky on this forum and it doesn't help. thx
     
  2. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #2
    I hope you can get it working I know with my dlink I have to use an ethernet cable because it wont accept the encryption on my wireless router. Should be in Network in System Preferences I believe where you configure it. Your network should show up and you should be able to type in your password and away you go (I think)

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Networking_Windows_with_Mac_OS_X another good resource once you get it going
     
  3. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #3
    Well first I try it with no password and sure enough the macbook didn't ask for the password but it still cannot connect. Then I added a password to my router and the macbook strangely registered and asked me for a password but I still cannot connect. What is with this?? THere has to be like a setting I am missing on my router.
     
  4. gadgetgirl85 macrumors 68040

    gadgetgirl85

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #4
    Are you using WEP or some sort of security on the router?
     
  5. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #5
    the password thing is wep I turned it off and on. They both get the same error messager There was an error joining the airport network "name"
     
  6. macdragonfl macrumors regular

    macdragonfl

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale,Fl
    #6
    belkin router

    I set up my friends new mac mini with this router, you must set the mac to 128 bit security and enter hex number only as password to get it to work. Did you turn off security on the router? Try this first and see if you can log on with no security on. If you can then it is the security mode that is the problem.
     
  7. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #7
    Thats what I said I turn my security off and on they both don't work. What do you mean by entering in hex?? On my router I type in a password and it generates a hex code....do I enter in the hexcode or password?? Cause if I type in the hex code my macbook won't accept that many characters as the password. O BTW the router is set up with my dell desktop I have a dell laptop that connects to it with a wireless card I am just trying to get this macbook connected to it as well.
     
  8. macdragonfl macrumors regular

    macdragonfl

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale,Fl
    #8
    reply

    You need to change your router to WEP security 128 bit do not use WPA the Macbook will then allow you to enter the longer hex password. For some reason this Belkin router only works with Macs in this mode
     
  9. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #9
    ok wep set do I enter in the password into the macbook or the hex code?
     
  10. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #10
    Can I get your msn or aim I think that would be better. :)
     
  11. macdragonfl macrumors regular

    macdragonfl

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale,Fl
  12. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #12
    ok the hex code 26 chararcters long the macbook only takes like 8 after that the ok button fades and you can't press it.
     
  13. macdragonfl macrumors regular

    macdragonfl

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale,Fl
    #13
    reply

    is there a drop down box next to the password if there is click it and select 128 bit ?
     
  14. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
  15. macdragonfl macrumors regular

    macdragonfl

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale,Fl
    #16
    you can use that address in AIM

    make sure you enter the @mac.com
     
  16. breakfastcrew thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #17
    ugh......this is annoying I bet if I brought a pc laptop it would connect no problem.
     
  17. fuzzmaistah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #18
    You need to select the 128 WEP encryption not password

    When you try to set it up with a 128 WEP encryption you need to select that option. When you try to use password you can't use the hex key.

    You need to use the hex key because the belkin router uses another algorithm then you mac to convert the passphrase to hex.

    Check out the screenshot below.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page