MacBook Pro 1.83Ghz, 512Mb RAM and FCP HD 4.5

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by kirk.davis, Apr 25, 2006.

  1. kirk.davis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #1
    Will it run? Is it even worth trying with these specs? Or should I go for the upgraded universal binary version?

    I've ordered a 1GB RAM upgrade which should arrive soonish so RAM should be looking a little healthier, I just wondered if anyone had any experience of FCP 4.5 under Rossetta?
     
  2. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #2
    I have not personally tried, but Apple states that no version before 5.1 will even install on any intel Mac.
     
  3. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Yeah, FCP HD on Intel is a slug and you have to hack it to work. You'd be very smart to take advantage of the $200 upgrade to Final Cut Studio, especially since Motion works beautifully on that machine.
     
  4. kirk.davis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #4
    Ok, thanks for the feedback! Is Final Cut Studio Universal Binary only? I have a PowerMac G5 as well and was wondering if it will work with both (licensing issues aside).
     
  5. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    The definition of Universal Binary in this case means that it will run on PowerPC or Intel...hence the use of the word "Universal" ;) That being said I have FCS on my MBP and my Quad...
     
  6. kirk.davis thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #6
    Thanks! :)
     

Share This Page