MacBook Pro 13" + 24 CD = Worse framerates

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by PowerGamerX, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #1
    I've got a bit of a mystery I'd like solved. I've done some searches on the web and can't really find anything helpful so maybe you all have some insight.

    So anyway, I just recieved a 24" Cinema Display :)D) and upon hooking it up to my MacBook Pro I've noticed a sharp drop in framerates in both Windows and Mac OS games, even though I've kept the resolution and settings the same. My laptop is in clamshell mode whilst connected so it's not like I'm extending the desktop either.

    Any ideas?

    TIA
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    there is no mystery. the 13 inch graphics card can not push the graphics onto a 24 monitor. what are you getting like 10 - 15 frames a sec in most games?
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #3
    the 320M is considered a weak GPU so no wonder it failed.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    At the same exact resolution, it doesn't matter if it is 24", it should be getting close to the same frame rates.

    Some laptops get slightly lower on an external port than the main... not drastic... but I don't know how much that affects macs.

    If your leaving your lid shut though, the machine could be overheating, which causes it to automatically down-clock itself to prevent damage, which would hurt the performance.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #5
    You guys didn't really read the OP did you?

    I've been watching the temps and they're nothing more than I was getting before using it clamshell mode. I even put an icepack under the laptop to eliminate any possibility of overheating and saw no improvement to gameplay.

    Thing is though it is a drastic reduction, I've heard maybe you'll loose a few FPS but nothing like I've noticed. FE, TF2 is borderline unplayable at 760x480 + lowest settings connected to the monitor but unconnected it plays fairly well at 1280x800 with mid-high settings and 2x AA.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    You know that you could open the machine after you have started to use the external display, I don't think it would help you, but you don't have to worry about cooling.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #7
    There isn't an issue with overheating in the first place though. However that is a good tip for those that do have a problem with overheating in clamshell mode.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #8
    ooops yeah i need to learn how to read. do you have a old monitor sitting around. would like to know if it can be reproduced on a standard vga connection.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #9
    That's not a very good idea. The ice pack could easily allow condensation to get into your MacBook Pro and possibly damage some internal parts.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PowerGamerX

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #10
    This is actually a good idea. I'll try on my old Samsung 24" over DVI in a little bit. I can also test for VGA in a couple days, I have to track down a friend with a MDP-VGA first though.
     

Share This Page