MacBook Pro 17" Disassembly Pix!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by FragTek, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. FragTek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #1
    Yup yup, I tore her all the way down to the bare aluminum case today out of shear boredom! To be honest, my MBP didn't seem to run as hot to really warrant needing to tear it all the way down and reapply TIC but I did it anyway :p From the pix you can tell that Apple is still caking on the TIC like a DQ parfait :rolleyes: It seems like it'd be so simple to tell the guys on the assembly line to take it easy on the TIC but they've obviously decided not to do that as of yet.

    It was a fun project taking it all apart. This is the first laptop that I've ever completely dissasembled down to the frame. A few parts were a bit shaky pulling out all of the super tiny plugs, etc. Everything seems very well built though, I didn't have any problems at all (thank God!! i'm glad that I didnt end up with a $3000 paper weight...).

    After applying the new TIC my temps dropped about 20*c under load. It's quite clear that they're using FARRRRR to much TIC on the chips.

    Have a looksy @ the pix:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. FragTek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
  3. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #3
    Nice! Those things are enormous inside! I'm excited for when Apple will give you the option of adding two hard drives in the 17". They could definitely find room in that cavernous aluminium frame!

    And taking it apart is easy, afterwards comes the tricky part - reassembly!
     
  4. FragTek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #4
    Every nook and cranny inside is pretty darn well packed up mate, dunno where they would be able to find the space for another hard drive withouth making it thicker. I'm more than conent with my 100 gigger though :) I've got a 100gb portable FireLite and 300gb desktop external hd to compliment it. Between those I have more than enough space for all of my junk!

    I'll tell ya what, Final Cut Studio eats up a huge chunk of that 100gb drive! With bootcamp installed w/ 15gb partition I have less than 20 gigs of free space :( Thinking about installing FCS on my external desktop drive to save internal HD space. I use FCS fairly frequently but not enough to render it needing to be on my internal HD I don't think.
     
  5. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #5
    Hmm, interesting. I don't know what's taking up so much space on my computer. It says I have 33.75 GB left, but other than a 20 GB partition for Windows, the only apps are the apps that came with the computer (I deleted the Final Cut Studio Pro Trial from my computer). The only other things I have are Google Earth and Firefox. :( My iTunes folder is only 3.42 GB. :(

    Anyways, back on topic, that's nice. Though I'd be afraid to dig into the inner workings of my computer. I actually also realized that if you did not use Windows sharing, that your comp runs a lot cleaner as well. :)
     
  6. FragTek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #6
    I had to have a direct link between my XP files and my Mac files, it seems to be working pretty darn well.

    Final Cut Studio 5.1 is like 6 DVD's IIRC. It takes up some ungodly amount like 50 gigs or something like that. Completely huge-tastic application.
     
  7. mikemodena macrumors 6502a

    mikemodena

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #7
    70 gigs// :eek:
     
  8. MACDRIVE macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #8
    FragTek,

    Those pictures are to die for. Nice! And yes, way too much thermopaste. :eek:

    What are you using for a camera, if I may ask? :)
     
  9. FragTek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #9
    Thanks mate. I use a Canon PowerShot S80. It is capable of taking MUCH better pix then what I've displayed in this thread, but I used the "Auto" mode which has a tendency to butcher pictures pretty well. I was in a hurry to get everything done though so Auto mode was the fastest way to point and shoot and achieve acceptable photos.

    You should see what this baby can do in Macro mode with the correct settings in one of the manual shutter modes :D

    Edit:

    Here's a pic I just snapped with it setup for night shooting + macro. The detail is uncanny, great for taking PC hardware pictures after doing some voltmods, etc. This is the camera I use for taking the pix of my review hardware at OC3D.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #10
    Cool pics. I can't believe you took off the screen. I would be afraid of making it a 3k doorstop...:D

    Nice with glossy screen, but I gotta ask you, you said there wouldn't be room for an extra HDD, but do you think a internal powersupply might be possible? That would be sweet...:eek: :cool: :D
     
  11. sunrobby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #11
    whats that white box besides the super drive? Is that the trackpad machine? Looks wider than the trackpad itself isnt it? means actually the trackpad can be wider?
     
  12. sunrobby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #12
    i sometimes confuse with apple's product, they never put any warranty seal, so you can just rip off your ipod, or macbook. Its different for Dell/Sony/etc's laptop, warranty seal everywhere "Warranty void if seal is broken" :rolleyes: So what will make the warranty void for apple's product? :confused:
     
  13. Tompi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    #13
    I believe that would be the table!

    Thats the gap left when the battery is removed and part of the packaging.

    (whats the deal with the thermal paste, still! Would have though Apple's manufacturers might have picked up on the problems of the 15"??!!)
     
  14. sunrobby macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #14
    yes! just realized that :p so, the trackpad machine should be in the other side of the cover right
     
  15. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    Do we have some before and after temperature readings? Or is it just "OMG 20 degree cooler" without anything to compare it to?

    Just wondering.
     
  16. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  17. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #17
    No!

    How many more times must this be explained to the hard of thinking?

    You only void your warrranty if you damage your computer while you're in there.
     
  18. odedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #18
    So I guess now it's finally official, the processor in the MBP 17" is soldered in. Haven't seen an exact proof of that yet (just for the 15" so far)
     
  19. BWhaler macrumors 68020

    BWhaler

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    #19
    very, very cool pics.

    Please tell me you were able to put it back together.
     
  20. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #20
    :( That made me sad to see it torn apart, and to also know now that the processor is soldered in also made me sad, I guess I was hoping for a miracle
     
  21. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    is that thermal paste not just like bluetack, i was going to use the same stuff just spread thin, but it's nearly impossible so i just used some spare AS5
     
  22. FragTek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #22
    Thx for the replies! She's running quite a bit cooler now and I'm definately happy about that. When under 100% load for a period of time it still get's pretty toasty. The metal bar above the F keys still gets hot enough to not make you want to put your fingers on it for more than about 5 seconds.

    Too people wondering if I got it back together... YES. Everything from the first post on has all been posted on the MacBook :)
     
  23. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #23
    LIES
    You void your warranty if you open it yourself no matter if you do not do damage to it.......
    Unless someone can post proof claiming otherwise from Apple's site then I stand by my stance.

    No warranty for u!
     
  24. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    no, warrenty is in tact unless you break something in their or cause damage that leads to future problems, (i'd advise investing in kapton tape yellow tape and foil tape so you can replace what you remove)

    i am an apple certified technician, if you actually bother reading the warranty it is abundantly clear that at no point does it indicate that cracking the shell open voids the warrantee, heck even if you replace the thermal paste and the logic board breaks unless they can prove that was the cause of the problem they are bound by law to fix it for free.

    that does not mean that the odd apple employee will make **** up like it's void just to sell you it CTO maxed out, or that the dude on the phone is asked will say that your warrantee is void if you tell him all the **** you did, if you argued it they have to fix it or at least look at it to see if the fault was caused by you.
     
  25. FragTek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #25
    I took very good care of the tape and put it all back in place perfectly. U can't tell that I've ever broken in to it and ripped every last piece out :D lol
     

Share This Page