MacBook Pro 17" Startup Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by aricher, May 12, 2006.

  1. aricher macrumors 68020

    aricher

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chi-il
    #1
    I'm helping a co-worker set up his new 17" 2.16 with 1 GB RAM. After installing the latest Quicktime and Security update today the machine won't start up properly. It hands on either a blue screen or on the Apple logo grey screen. I hooked it up to my PB and booted it as a FireWire disk and ran DiskTools. There were some problems with the verification that DiskTools repaired but it still won't start up. Any thoughts?
     
  2. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
  3. aricher thread starter macrumors 68020

    aricher

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chi-il
    #3
    Good timing. I tried safe mode once and it didn't work but after the disktools repair it works fine. I'm thinking that the startup is hanging on Suitcase Fusion. I deactivated it from the startup items and all seems fine now.

    Thanks.
     
  4. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    oh good, glad to hear it.

    I've been through the wringer with startup problems on a powerbook, and although I am not that proficient in much of this, I seem to know the routine. :eek:
     
  5. Kreamy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    #5
    While not entirely on topic - setting the startup mode to verbose will help you get to the root of issues quicker.
     
  6. PatrickF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Blighty
    #6
  7. EricChunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    He will need to watch every "get a mac" commercial for at least 10 times before his mac will turn back to normal, espcially the "macs dont hang" episode.
     
  8. Kreamy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    #8
    I know, the only reason i chuckled during those ads is because they're all fallacies.
     
  9. aricher thread starter macrumors 68020

    aricher

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chi-il
    #9
    Great - now I can get it to the login screen but the keyboard input doesn't work. Going to try Safe Mode again
     
  10. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #10
    Let me guess, the MBP had Abobe CS2 installed on it?
     
  11. aricher thread starter macrumors 68020

    aricher

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chi-il
    #12
    The fix worked. Amazing to me that Apple wouldn't test their update on a machine with Adobe Version Cue installed.

    Thanks so much for posting the fix. I'm the resident Mac guru at my office and this PC switcher gave me his 17" MacBook to format for him. My heart sank when it wouldn't restart,

    Ugh.
     
  12. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #13
    Indeed. Hopefully Apple will release a fixed version of the security update, although one can't help but think that most of the damage has already been done.
     
  13. aricher thread starter macrumors 68020

    aricher

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chi-il
    #14
    I'm just glad it happened on my watch instead of the switcher's. Dang. I have to send an email out to some of my less-mac-savvy friends. Thanks again for your help.
     
  14. sebastian920 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #15
    Start up problems

    i installed updates as well. i have been having problems, but they are temporary and i chalk it up to "something happened, but must if fixed itself". well my MacBook Pro 15" 2.0 2G will start up, but will not chime and the screen is blank. this happened (for the third time) after installing updates and restarting. AppleCare says it is the logic board. The computer started up fine this morning. not sure what to think, if i send this computer back, this would be the 3rd time since FEB (i was sent a faulty unit to begin with) i can not be without a computer and i am am getting frustarated after spending so much money for a computer that has all these problems
     
  15. androvboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #16
    Got my 17 MBP this morning. My first Mac ever. Plan is that I can still use XP and migrate to MAC OS if I like it.

    However as soon as we get going it wants to download over 200Mb of updates? WTF? This thing is brand new out the box - why does it not come with the latest software loaded? I only have 384k DSL and use the network for my other PC (like the one I am using to type this!) so it is taking hours to do the download.

    The irony is that it sounds like everyone deletes and reloads the OS to remove the bloatware so will probably need to go through the whole process again. Hmmmmmmmmmm.
     
  16. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #17
    So what's your problem? If the downloads take time, then leave the computer running downloading them over night. I'm sorry that Apple release new software packages, and that they don't have latest software update (released in the last few weeks, mainly iLife) installed on your box, but there you go, you'll have the same issue on any OS.

    You had some bad timing here due to buying your computer around the time Apple released some large iLife updates, but would you rather Apple not release fixed software?

    Also - you're not forced to install these updates.
     

Share This Page