MacBook Pro 64-bit

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by milan03, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. milan03 macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    When is the 64bit version of macbook pro gonna come out if ever? Does any of you have any idea?

    Thanks for your replies.
     
  2. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #2
    Duff-Man says...is it that important? Have you read the endless info out there about 64bit and what it really means? The MacBook Pro's are just now shipping in quantity, anything anybody tells you here about future upgrades is just idle speculation and not based on any reliable information...once again...if you need something, buy it, it will do everything you want it to...oh yeah!
     
  3. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Intel's successor to the current chip (yonah, used in MB Pro) is expected to debut toward the end of the year. It should support 64 bit.

    This chip will be much better than Yonah due to larger cache, higher clockspeeds, and lower power consumption.

    However, the 64 bit feature isn't that great. OS X doesn't utilize any special 64 bit features, even if you're running on a G5. So don't worry about the 64 bit stuff, not at least for a few years or so.
     
  4. milan03 thread starter macrumors 6502

    milan03

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
  5. g0gie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #5
    actually the current chips in the macbook pro are 64 bit, except that its not enabled :X and yes, the next intel chip 'merom" is 64 bit, and apparently quite a jump in power compared to yonah :)
     
  6. rendezvouscp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #6
    That's not true. From what I understand, there are libraries (and plug-ins for apps) that have been built to utilize the G5's 64-bit capabilities. While all of Mac OS X isn't 64-bit (which makes sense), the things that need to or should be 64-bit are.
    -Chasen
     
  7. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #7
    That's not quite true...what Intel said was more processing power per watt. The power consumption will likely be the same as Yonah, but at higher clock rates...so you will have faster machines with the same power consumption.

    This is of course just for the mobile processors which are fairly low power consumption anyway. The place where you'll see power consumption drop while overall speed increases is in the desktop processors where the current P4 based chips run at an insane 110+ watts.

    The biggest draw on notebooks these days are screens...large bright screens kill battery life.
     
  8. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #8
    Im sure a few high end apps take advantage of 64 bit.
     
  9. trogdor! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #9
    Th 64 bit technology is definatly not completly understood by everyone. It will come with new revisions.
     
  10. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #10
    You don't want a 64 bit MBP, but what you will really want will be a MBP with Robson caching, and that's supposedly coming with PC laptops next year (~ Q1 2007)
     
  11. lukejmorrison macrumors newbie

    lukejmorrison

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Running Mac OS X 32bit with Windows 7 64bit in a VM VIrtual Machine

    Anybody know if you can run Windows 64 bit version in a Mac Running 32bit in a VM Ware Virtual Machine?

    I guess I'll try it and find out!

    Luke

     
  12. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #12
    This is a very old thread. But the answer to the question if Win7-64 runs in a VM with OS X k32 is yes. I have done it with a 2006 MBP which had the proper Intel virtualization bits with Vista and Win7 would not be any different there.
     

Share This Page