MacBook Pro and Games - What are your settings?

Discussion in 'Games' started by Lincoln 6 Echo, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. Lincoln 6 Echo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    #1
    Using an MBP 2.16 GHz with 256 MB Radeon X1600 and 2.0 GB of 667 MHz RAM DDR2, I'm kind of disappointed in the lack of ability to handle games that aren't that new. I know Macs aren't game machines likes PCs but I've read mixed reports of these games (see below) running well and running crappily on various Macs. I figured my machine would be able to run them on the 'well' side...

    A game WoW looks frikking amazing with settings relatively high. COD2 runs okay at medium-low settings. But an older game like SW:KOTOR runs like crap even at pathetically low settings.

    Can anyone tell me what the optimal settings on my machine would be for:

    - Call of Duty 2
    - Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

    Also, what other games do you recommend for an MBP 2.16 MHz?
     
  2. Zadillo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    #2
    If you're talking about running the Mac version, a game like KOTOR won't run well because it has to run through emulated PowerPC code.

    KOTOR for the PC should run better under BootCamp. CoD2 should as well.

    -Zadillo
     
  3. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
  4. Zadillo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    #4
    Has to be Core Duo, the 2.16 C2D is only available in combination with a 128MB X1600.
     
  5. Lincoln 6 Echo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    #5
    Yeah, sorry, 2.16 GHz CoreDuo (not Core2Duo).
     
  6. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    well, there's your problem. I recommend upgrading to a 2.16 GHz version; that should make a big difference for you.













    :D (sorry, couldn't resist)
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7

    I'm just wondering how he runs anything at all... haha. ;)
     
  8. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    That could barely run BIOS. ;)
     
  9. Zadillo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    #9
    Hell, even my old Mac 512ke was 8 MHz.
     

Share This Page