MacBook Pro and HDTVs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Woodcrest64, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. Woodcrest64 macrumors 6502a

    Woodcrest64

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    I'm wondering if or how you can use your MacBook or MacBook Pro on a HDTV running at the full 1080P resolution.
     
  2. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Plug in an HDMI to DVI or DVI cable...whalla! Done.
     
  3. Joony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    #3
    Did you get one of those cheap Westinghouse 1080p LCDs? They seem pretty nice for the cost!
     
  4. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #4
    I have a Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD (46") and it has 2 HDMI inputs, one of which has an analog line-in jack for use with computers. So I bought a DVI to HDMI cable from monoprice.com for video and a standard audio cable from the line-out on the MBP for the audio. Get full 1920x1080 resolution on my TV out of the MBP. Looks great.
     
  5. flalaw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    a small portion of left and right sides of my screen are chopped off when i connect to my phillips HDTV (black space). Also, the entire HDTV screen is taken up from top to bottom, but its as if i'm looking at a zoomed in version of my desktop b/c the dock and menu bar are also cut off. any solutions?

    i tried all the different resolutions in my display settings but no luck
     
  6. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    There ought to be an "Overscan" checkbox when you've hooked up to an HDTV. I say "ought" because sometimes there isn't. I haven't figured out whether or not there's any rhyme or reason to this.
     
  7. Joony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    #7
    flalaw, which model do you have?

    I just hooked up my MBP on a friend's Sony rear projection HDTV and it was slightly cropped inwards. Unticking the overscan checkbox gave slight black bars.

    If you have a Plasma or LCD, try looking for a 1:1 or dot for dot mode aspect ratio mode.
     
  8. DodgerBlue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #8
    I have a C2D MBP -- does it matter if I get a DVI-I or DVI-D to HDMI?
     
  9. Snejenka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    #9
    I have the PowerBook G4 HD (the last PowerBook G4 made which has better resolution). I am using a DVI to HDMI cable to my Samsung HLS6187W. I don't have the Overscan on, but 1920 x 1080 the dock and menu bar are off the screen.... it's too annoying so I set it to 1600 x 900... until I find a solution..... been searching.
     

Share This Page