MacBook Pro as second monitor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by neobrooklyn, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. neobrooklyn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    #1
    Here is the scenario:

    Two 17" MacBook Pro's. Is there any way to set up the second MacBook Pro as the second monitor for the first MacBook Pro? Looking for something like KVM functionality on the second laptop where I can switch the screen between the two laptops. Sort of what I ran already with two desktops - would like to do it with two mac laptops.

    I don't think it is possible for several reasons, but just checking. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    To the best of my knowledge, nope. :(

    You need a video input on one of the machines and even though you might technically be able to get one using an EyeTV or something equivilent, it'd be slow and expensive. If you have a third screen and keyboard, you could still plug your machines into that, I guess.
     
  3. neobrooklyn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the response, mad jew.

    Yeah, the video input is what I figured would the feature breaker. May take a look at the EyeTV to see if there is anything there. Thanks!

    Too bad dual-link DVI can't do output AND input. :(

    Want to take two laptops with me when I travel overseas next year. Lugging around a third monitor seems like a bit more then what I want. :D

    Maybe something will come out in the future...
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    As noted, not possible because of hardware limitations. The DVI port is output only.

    However, there's a complete piece of **** software out there that is sure to **** one of your computers up but might do what you want, fortunately (for you, after that glowing recommendation), I cannot for the life of me remember what it's called.

    I shouldn't be so harsh, they tried and it's a great concept. Just, as with many other Mac-related things, the Mac support far lags behind.

    AH yes.. Synergy. Good luck. ;)

    http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/index.html
     
  5. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #5
    Synergy is a great peice of software, and will not "****" your computer.:rolleyes:
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    OK ok it was a bit harsh.. I've seen plenty of threads complaining about issues that end up being because of Synergy, but as expected not many threads about how fantasticalrific it is.
     
  7. redeye be macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #7
    I've been running synergy for quite some time here with no, indeed no, problem at all. How could it starstarstarstar your computer anyway?

    Try it, it works great
     
  8. vultureboy macrumors member

    vultureboy

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Blackpool, UK
    #8
    Synergy is great! Used it for a looong time. Does not offer support to use one macbook as a second screen though.

    An idea... Would it be possible to use vnc for what you are after? Just an idea but can you set up VNC to allow access to a different desktop? I know it is possible in Linux but not too sure about Mac.

    Alternatively. TV card in the second lappy and a DVI to TV adapter in the first lappy and you have yourself a make do system. :)
     
  9. redeye be macrumors 65816

    redeye be

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    BXL
    #9
    Yes you can. There's a thread about it somewhere on MR :)
     

Share This Page