macbook pro bluetooth problem **Help Plz**

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by coolpal, Feb 26, 2007.

  1. coolpal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #1
    hi,

    I have a macbook pro C2D... when I trun on bluetooth and try to add my BT headsets (Moto H500 and Moto H700) using bluetooth setup asst, it doesn't seem to find my headsets at all.. (I have the headsets in pairing mode, and even successfully paired them with my phones..)

    Everytime it tries to search for the device, it says (almost instantaneously) "An error occured attempting to perform search" and doesn't show my headsets... it happens with all possible device combinations... most of the time, my BT Phone also has problems pairing with my MBP... but it finally fot paired.

    I know the BT module itself is fine, 'coz when I pairt the same devices in Win XP (vmware), it finds it fine..... I tried restarting several times with no success....

    Can anyone plz help me with the issue? I am just out of my 90 day period, so I'm not sure, if apple tech support will help me :-(

    pal :)

    EDIT: Got it working... I tried making my BT on MBP discoverable and was playing with my Headset and suddenly MBP popped up the enter passkey window and seems like my Headset is finally paired.. wiered.. but its working :)
     
  2. coolpal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #2
    crap... now it says device does not have any services... when I try to browse it. Is that the norm?

    pal :(
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    You don't have to do anything special in order to make those particular headsets discoverable, do you? (Wait, the H500 is the RAZR-mate one, right? I have that, and you don't have to do anything special.)

    I had the MissingSync software on my Mac for a while, and for some reason, it noted that an initial pairing sometimes works on WM devices right after booting the computer but may fail later. They actually have an exhaustive troubleshooting guide for botched attempts to pair new bluetooth devices. Don't see why this would not apply to headsets also, generally (well, not all of it). Especially #8 on their list.

    http://www.markspace.com/support/kb.php?x=&mod_id=2&root=141&id=2728
     
  4. coolpal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #4
    hi,

    thanks for ur reply...
    I got my BT headset into pairing mode (the blue light is steadily lit) before I tried to pair it with my MBP... it for some reason didn't work at first... but then I guess when I made MBP discoverable, the BT headset initiated the pairing and it was added to my devices list.

    Later, I removed all my old Mobile phones from my devices list and was able to add BT headset without problems... I do have Missing Sync installed, and I believe before installing it, I haven't seen this problem with my old phones....

    Now my problem is, when I click "Browse" on my newly added BT Headset, it searches for a while and says no available services (or something similar)... is this the norm? and how do I use it with say, Y! messenger or Skype??
    The same thing happens when I browse my T-Mobile dash (which I got it paired with great difficulty)

    Sorry If I my questions are dumb... I'm a NOOB with Macs ;)

    pal :)
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Ahhh, if I understand you correctly, do you mean Browse Device, such as from the Bluetooth menu in the menu bar? No, that should definitely NOT work with a headset. That item is for browsing the contents of a device that contains files. If you select this and then, say, select a Bluetooth phone, the computer will attempt to show you the filesystem of the phone and let you add / delete / transfer files.

    As your headset does not have files on it, it cannot be browsed.

    If you go to Sys Prefs -> Bluetooth -> Devices, and then click on the entry for your headset, you should see a hands-free or headset related profile listed. Probably the former.

    After pairing it, do this: go to system preferences -> input. You should see it listed on the input list, I think. If it is, and it is selected, it should automatically become the input for your apps. If that doesn't work, look in the prefs of that app to see if the app separately selects its input (I think iChat does).

    I left my headset at home, so I can't try it for you. :(
     
  6. coolpal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #6
    Thanks for ur reply...

    I guess u r right... I did see the profiles supported for BT Headsed and it was just headset related... I was really confused 'coz it didn't let me browse my Windows Mobile Smartphone too.... but that must be because my phone probably uses a profile which mac doesn't support....

    Anyways, I don't have my mac here at work... so I will test it out this evening and post my results....

    thanks again...

    pal :)
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    The browsing feature is a little dodgy... it didn't work at all on my Nokia 3650 but works fine on my far less smartphone of a RAZR V3. I'm not sure if it's an issue of supporting a specific profile or whether the phone's security has to allow browsing (as, in general, the featureset of the 3650 is far advanced of that of the V3).
     

Share This Page