Macbook Pro C2D Wireless Issues in XP

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Neanderphil, Nov 11, 2006.

  1. Neanderphil macrumors member


    Sep 28, 2006

    I've just installed windows xp on my new macbook pro C2D and have installed the drivers CD that i burnt. I am currently using a D-Link DSL-G604T wireless access point and have the network open. I can connect fine to the wireless network in tiger, however when i try to connect in windows xp i get an unspecified error and cannot connect. The error basically says that i cannot connect to the network.

    The interesting point being that when i reboot back into osx and try to connect to the wireless network i get the same unspecified error and have to reset the wireless access point before i can rejoin. Before resetting the router i attempted to use the network setup utility. This attempted to connect to the wireless network and said a wep/wpa key was required. There is however no key set on the router. At the same time there is no mention of a required wep/wpa key when i try to join the network using the pull down menu in the top right hand corner in the tool bar of the finder. When i boot back into XP i still cannot connect to the router.

    I updated the routers firmware but this did not help with the problem at all. Is is possible that the new "n" card present in the macbook has difficulties with this router? Has anybody else encountered this problem?

    Any help would be much appreciated,

  2. ceiabreu macrumors newbie

    Nov 23, 2006
    Can't connect to DSL-G604T with new macbook pro

    I thought I would mention that I have a similar issue. New MacBook Pro (Core 2 Duo), only with OSX, and I can't connect to the router. Tried resetting the router, adding or removing security. A G4 MacBook Pro connects with no problems...

  3. EsCtrl macrumors newbie

    Nov 28, 2006
  4. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816


    Aug 30, 2006
    Wow.. a G4 Macbook Pro.. :D
  5. stan spencer macrumors newbie

    Sep 26, 2005
    I'll add to this query

    I have noticed this problem to on my new core 2 duo pro macbook.

    i have tried to set the wpa password on my router many times, and i don't really know what to put in what box on the router setup. I too have a 604T. Could someone tell me what to do to set it up please?

    as for the problem connecting wirelessly in windows; that woud be nice to get som answers on too.

  6. GrnEydDvl macrumors newbie

    Dec 2, 2006
    Same Issue here with different router/modem

    I have a 2wire Homeportal 1000SW.

    Same behavior. I can use my C2D 15inch macbook pro to connect wirelessly just fine in OS X but when I try it in XP it can see the network but hangs when trying to connect. I can connect via ethernet cable in XP without issue.

    Sometimes I do not get an error, other times it gives me a non-specific notice, usually about the network no longer in range, even though I have 5/5 bars.

    Adding / removing encryption did not help. I even tried (successfully) installing alternate drivers for the wireless card in XP but it did not change the behavior.

    SBC Yahoo DSL has been no help at all. They punted once they got me to admit I was using Boot Camp Beta.

    I have an open question on this posted to the Apple support forums. So far no replies.
  7. Yoda47 macrumors newbie

    Dec 4, 2006
    MI, USA
    I have the same issue, G4 mac mini can connect fine, Macbook Pro on OS X can connect fine, even my work computer (Dell running XP SP2) can connect fine, but Macbook Pro running Windows XP SP2 on the latest version of bootcamp finds the network, then hangs when trying to connect.

    I've got an airport router with WPA2. Also, at my parents house, I have a D-Link wireless router setup the same way (WPA2, same options) and have the same problem (the other computes mentioned above can all connect to this router too)
  8. GrnEydDvl macrumors newbie

    Dec 2, 2006
    Have you tried the WPA2 upgrade from Windows?
    Someone recommended this to me but I have been unable to try it yet as I am at work.
  9. GrnEydDvl macrumors newbie

    Dec 2, 2006
    Fixed my problem

    I finally got everything sorted out last night. I fixed the problem by installing a newer DSL Modem / Router. Too bad I do not know WHY it fixed it but I am happy all the same.

    The model I upgraded to is:

    2Wire Wireless-G 802.11g ADSL Gateway
    Model: 2700HG-B

    It can be purchased at Best Buy for $130 before rebate. They can be found much cheaper on eBay.

    This is one of the current models AT&T is distributing to their DSL customers. I am having them send me one as part of an upgrade deal (and returning the one to Best Buy).
  10. kingofspoof macrumors newbie

    Mar 1, 2007
    Has anyone found a fix to this rather than buying a new router? i have a dsl 604t router and can't connect in windows xp bootcamp and don't want to have to fork out for a new router! help appreciated...
  11. Yoda47 macrumors newbie

    Dec 4, 2006
    MI, USA
    The update that GrnEydDvl mentioned works.
    I saw that listed on OS News yesterday. I didn't even know that Windows doesn't support WPA2.

    I installed the update last night, and now I can connect to the wireless network from Bootcamp perfectly fine.

    So, yes, this works.
  12. kingofspoof macrumors newbie

    Mar 1, 2007
    this didn't work for me - still getting the same error: Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of available networks, and try to connect again . i don't think my problem is the WPA2 compatibility as i'm using a WEP HEX key on my dlink 604T?
  13. daneoni macrumors G4


    Mar 24, 2006
    I remember those, steve said they were 'bitchin'.
  14. lufla macrumors newbie

    Mar 10, 2007
    problem solved - wireless under bootcamp to a 2wire router

    OK!!!! I just solved the connection of my Windows XP wireless using bootcamp to a 2wire router. I basically downloaded the latest driver for the wireless card. It can be found here:

    GOOD LUCK - it was really an annoying problem!


  15. Erasmus® macrumors member

    Oct 30, 2006
    simple question

    Hi guys, sorry to disturb but my english does not allow me to completely understand yor discussion: does the airport express router work with windows based laptops (or does is just work with our macs running windows on bootcamp)? thanks!

Share This Page