macbook pro>commodore

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mark!, May 7, 2006.

  1. mark! macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #1
    I posted this on Apple Discussions, but didn't quite get the answer.

    If I hooked up the DVI>VGA (db 15) adapter (that came with the MacBook Pro) to this:

    [​IMG]

    & got an extension cable to hookup to another moniter which uses DB9, would these adapters work?

    DVI>DB15 FEMALE || DB15 MALE>DB9 FEMALE || DB9 MALE

    This will work right?
    I am very worried if I did this it wouldn't work, & I don't really have the $40 to waste on all these adapters if this doesn't work.

    (I'm 15, so there are other things $40 could go for, & I don't come by money easily as one might think)

    EDIT:I know these adapters are correct, I would just like to know if this will work.
     
  2. MS bulldog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    #2
    buy it from a B&M store with a liberal return policy.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    I think the core question is what kind of signal the display is expecting on the DB9 pins... you're saying it's a Commodore display? From the old days, or more recently? Where did the DB15-DB9 adapter come from? Is it meant for this purpose? Unless I'm misunderstanding something, when you go from DB15 to DB9, you're dropping a number of pins...so you had better be dropping the right ones! :eek: :eek:
     
  4. mark! thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #4
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    ? Confused ?

    You are talking about spending $20 + shipping on and adaptor to hook up a 10 or 15 year old monitor that can do 4000 colours at 640 x 256 (640 x 512 interlaced) , to a Mac -- when you could go to a used computer store and buy a 15" SVGA monitor for the same price??

    Man, I think this is a BAD idea. Even if it can hook up cable-wise, the chance of the Mac and the monitor synching is next to zero. You also stand the risk of blowing out the monitor by feeding it the wrong frequency signal.

    Is this the monitor Commodore 1084? It is not VESA VGA compatible, let alone SVGA.
    http://www.zimmers.net/cbmpics/mlcomp3.html
    http://www.amigau.com/aig/monitors.html
     
  6. mark! thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #6
    Hi Res Version, 1084s-D1, Front View - 1230 x 1134, 142K
    Hi Res Version, 1084s-D1, Rear View - 1256 x 1154, 155K

    http://amiga-hardware.com/download_photos/10842sd1_1_big.jpg

    http://amiga-hardware.com/download_photos/10842sd1_2_big.jpg

    The resolution is listed above, & I LOVE that moniter, it's nicce & bright.
    Vintage look (FORSURE).

    http://amiga-hardware.com/showhardware.cgi?HARDID=849

    I got the information from there.

    EDIT: The moniter DOES suppose VGA....

    Pin-Outs (1084S DB9)

    Pin 1: Ground
    Pin 2: Ground
    Pin 3: Red
    Pin 4: Green
    Pin 5: Blue
    Pin 6: Unused
    Pin 7: Composite Sync
    Pin 8: Horizontal Sync
    Pin 9: Vertical Sync
     
  7. mark! thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #7
    [sigh]This would work...wouldn't it...seriously...the adapter says it is Mac Compatible...

    It seems like it would work...but I'm just worried it won't. Someone please help...surely someone might know :(
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    markkk I think your "I want it to work soooo bad" function has short circuited other critical processes...


    This is the resolution of the 1084S
    Resolution: 640 x 200 lines, 640 x 400 lines interlaced
    Raster Frequency: 50 or 60Hz
    Line Frequency: 15625 - 15750Hz


    That's the resolution of the photograph on the website, mate.


    I am gonna go WAY out on a limb here and say there is no hope in hell that this monitor will work. It can't take the minimum frequency or resolution that the DVI-SVGA output will produce.
     
  9. mark! thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #9
    haha, Okay thanks! I feel really stupid about that picture size thing...
    Thanks a lot, though!
     
  10. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    I'll second CanadaRAM's advice. This will not work. The horizontal refresh rate on your Commodore monitor is too low (television range) to work with a VGA output. Computer monitors need around 35khz to sync properly.
     
  11. remowilliams macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #11
    Wow, this is a crazy idea :eek:

    But at least this thread doesn't have the words "paste", "heat" or "whine" in it :D

    Seriously though - what are you thinking trying to hookup a modern SVGA output to a C1084? :rolleyes:

    I've got a few 1084s and they're not modern SVGA monitors. They have a horizontal sync rate of 15Hz - and a vsync of 50/60Hz, nowhere near the requirements for modern displays. You could very likely smoke the monitor by just trying it...
     
  12. mark! thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #12
    Yeah it is crazy...but I just like that moniter, I guess I'll just continue using it for the Nintendos!

    (I also like the insane-old look of it)
     
  13. remowilliams macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #13
    I love these monitors, but the latest Apple in my collection I hook up to it is my IIGS :D
     
  14. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #14


    Well it does now. Thanks alot. :D
     
  15. remowilliams macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #15
    Oops - Sorry! :)


    LOL :D
     
  16. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    I rocked that setup for a while, but I think at some point I threw my 1084s away. And may I please never purchase anything with a CRT in it again. :)
     
  17. mark! thread starter macrumors 65816

    mark!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    America
    #17
    Haha, I still have my iMac (G3) sittin on my middle shelf...of my desk...on the left. haha, I love the commodore though...but I think it's older than I am...not sure :rolleyes: :confused:
     
  18. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #18
    I've got the DB-15 to VGA adapter for you if youre interested I could sell it to you cheaper...say 13 shipped paypal? Just figured I'd throw it out there.
     

Share This Page