MacBook Pro dual monitor options

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by xcaliber84, Dec 13, 2008.

1. macrumors newbie

Here's my dilemma, I am a film student and recently got a new MBP when I started classes. I have been doing a bit of research and am starting to run out of hope for finding a way to run dual monitors with the mini display port. Now i have heard about this matrox box that essentially stretches the desktop out, but I have also heard some not so good things about it as well. I was wondering if anyone here knew of any other way to run dual displays with a MBP? It just seems like Apple would realize that their users could really use this ability since the media industry is a major customer base of theirs. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

2. macrumors 65816

arjen92

display link

An article I read says something about displaylink. It's also for mac's. You get a box, on which you can attach a second screen (and mouse and keyboard, but those are optional). You put the other end of the box into your usb. So you use one usb port to attach another screen via displaylink. There is a "sd220v notebook docking station" made by kensington, " dynadock universal usb docking station" by toshiba, "syncmaster 94OUX" (or g40UX, I cant read the difference) from samsung. You probably need the beta driver form displaylink. You can get it from www.displaylink.com/mac

I would say, do your research, this is just a hint.

Good luck.

3. macrumors 6502

WAIT!!

First, congrats on getting into film school, I'm a film student at Drexel in Philadelphia.

Now. DONT get the original MXO with DVI. It won't work with DisplayPort and the box is extremely finicky if you do not use hardware on the compatibility list. Look into the MXO which uses the expresscard slot and has HDMI out so you can connect it to anything. Read the reviews, your milage may vary. I have an original MXO (my rig is in my sig) and it rocks.