Macbook Pro HANGS - Can anyone help?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KSBOOM, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #1
    To whoever reads this, thank you in advance. My UbMBP 13 inch becomes completely non-functional from time to time - and won't work until I do a manual reboot by switching it off and turning it on by pressing the power button.

    Could someone help me understand what may be wrong with my system? I've posted the data below.

    Thank you.


    ERROR REPORT

    Wed Apr 7 20:20:39
    panic(cpu 1 caller 0x2269e4): "thread_invoke: preemption_level -1, possible cause: unlocking an unlocked mutex or spinlock"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1504.3.12/osfmk/kern/sched_prim.c:1471
    Backtrace (CPU 1), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
    0x5899be18 : 0x21b449 (0x5ce420 0x5899be4c 0x2238a5 0x0)
    0x5899be68 : 0x2269e4 (0x585e1c 0xffffffff 0x585db4 0x2262a8)
    0x5899bee8 : 0x2270ea (0x813bb98 0x0 0x43dd7000 0x1)
    0x5899bf58 : 0x227155 (0x22fa8f 0x863ea0 0x0 0x2a1596)
    0x5899bf78 : 0x22fc29 (0x22fa8f 0x863ea0 0x0 0x0)
    0x5899bfc8 : 0x29e6cc (0x863ea0 0x0 0x10 0x8b0b9e0)

    BSD process name corresponding to current thread: kernel_task

    Mac OS version:
    10D573

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 10.3.0: Fri Feb 26 11:58:09; root:xnu-1504.3.12~1/RELEASE_I386
    System model name: MacBookPro5,5
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Repair permissions with Disk Utility and verify disk too. Give OnyX a try as well.

    If that doesn't help, reinstall OS X. Make a backup ASAP if you don't have one
     
  3. macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #3
    That model should still be under Applecare, take it to an Apple store and have them look at it.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #4
    I'm definitely going to take it to an AASP. But was hoping someone could help me understand what's going wrong before that. Thank you to all of you for your helpful advice though. And If anyone does know what this is about, please do let me know.

    Thank you
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #5
    Same problem

    I have totally the same problem with the same message. I am about to reinstall the whole OS.
    Did you figure out your case?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    UT, USA
    #6
    Sounds like an issue with your RAM.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #7
    No - I haven't been able to figure out the case. Spoke to an Apple technician on the phone, he said to repair permissions, reset pram etc etc. The basic steps (don't quite remember all of them) That hasn't helped. I've tested my ram with Tech Tool Pro 5, it doesn't seem to indicate any problems with the ram sticks.

    Jockye2 - I haven't been able to figure out what the problem is yet. If you manage to find the cause before I do, let me know.

    Thank you to everyone who has taken the time out to suggest solutions.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    Just because it didn't indicate any problems doesn't mean there aren't any. Real memory tests take 48 hours to run to see if theres any problems.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #9
    Alright, I'll take it in to an AASP. Jockey2 - I'll let you know when they let me know what's wrong. But it may take a while because the AASP in my area works at their own pace. Thank you everyone for your help.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #10
    Please keep me posted as well, because I have the same issue!

    panic(cpu 1 caller 0x2269e4): "thread_invoke: preemption_level -1, possible cause: unlocking an unlocked mutex or spinlock"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1504.3.12/osfmk/kern/sched_prim.c:1471
    Backtrace (CPU 1), Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
    0x58753e28 : 0x21b449 (0x5ce420 0x58753e5c 0x2238a5 0x0)
    0x58753e78 : 0x2269e4 (0x585e1c 0xffffffff 0x585db4 0x2262a8)
    0x58753ef8 : 0x2270ea (0x81227c4 0x3 0x2c 0x0)
    0x58753f68 : 0x219096 (0x29e695 0x0 0x1 0x4ec9dc)
    0x58753fa8 : 0x2a7a07 (0xffffffff 0x1 0x58753fc8 0x7f9aea4)
    0x58753fc8 : 0x29e8a6 (0x0 0x0 0x10 0x7f9aea4)
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #11
    Possible Virtualization Issue

    I am having the same issue. After some research it seems that all of the recent users having this problem are using either VMware Fusion (Version 3.0.2 and 3.1), Parallels, or VirtualBox. It seems that something in how they interact with the kernel is causing the problem. Is anyone with Apple Care support getting any information from Apple? I haven't found an answer yet on the VMware Fusion forum yet.

    Thanks!

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP53.00AC.B03
    SMC Version (system): 1.48f2
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #12
    I checked my system with OnyX and found that i have a boot volume structure issue. It passed the S.M.A.R.T. tests. I'll update with the results. Have others with this problem ruled out disk issues?

    Thanks!
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #13
    I'm not using any of these - neither VMware Fusion (Version 3.0.2 and 3.1), Parallels, or VirtualBox. I even changed my hard drive to rule out boot issues and the problem is still occurring. If anyone has any updates or solutions to this problem, please let us know.
    Thanks.
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #14
    I had a similar problem with my netbook and tech's said it "couldn't be fixed:eek:

    I swapped the upgraded HDD back to the original HDD, same issue... installed a SSD with a clone of the original HDD...issue developed...

    Finally did a full install from the included OS disks and the problems went away... have you tried reloading OSX from your restore disks yet?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #15
    Yes. This is a fresh install - installed from the 10.6 Macbook Pro discs. It seems to be more of a Mac hardware issue than a hard disk issue. The same issue is occurring with 2 different hard disks indicating the common factor may be the Macbook Pro instead of the hard disks. However if anyone has any more helpful information, I'd appreciate it. I will update when I receive any more information also. As always, thank you for your help.
     

Share This Page