Macbook pro: how long for dashboard to open?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nimr0d, Mar 18, 2006.

  1. nimr0d macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #1
    1.83/512/80gb

    Just a question for all MBP owners, whenever i click on the dashboard icon on the doc, when i havent used it in say an hour or so, it takes around 5 seconds to open up, is this normal?

    I have 8 widgets open, nothing very processor/RAM intense though. just some basics.
     
  2. MattyMac macrumors 68000

    MattyMac

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/NYC
    #3
    It sort of happens to me on my powerbook....takes a couple seconds for the widgets to load I suppose and gather the info they are to display.
     
  3. nimr0d thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #4
    thats what i mean by 5 seconds, but usually its 3 seconds just for dashboard to come up, and then 2 or 3 seconds for everything to collect all its info, but i mean it only takes a while to come up when it hasnt been used for a fairly long time, i underexaggerated when i said an hour before, it most likely occours when its well over an hour.
     
  4. adrian-cg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #5
    yeah.. thats normal. Since widgets are webpages they gotta refresh.
     
  5. The Senator macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    true that

    make a screen corner to activate it, its quicker
     
  6. nimr0d thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #7
    done and done
     
  7. MacsomJRR macrumors 6502a

    MacsomJRR

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego
    #8
    I've got seven widgets that I use on my MBP: ESPN, dictionary, tv shows, calc, calendar, stocks and time. When I set them up initially a couple days ago I noticed that dashboard took maybe 2-3 seconds to pop up but now it's almost instant:cool:
     
  8. iHeartTheApple macrumors 6502

    iHeartTheApple

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    This happens on my PB only when I first enter Dashboard (first time after boot up). After that, it doesn't seem to have any delay.
     
  9. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #10
    Same as you. First time takes a few seconds - it's insant after that.
     
  10. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #11
    You only have 512MB of RAM so perhaps what's happening is that after a few hours the data on your Dashboard has been swapped out to the harddisk, hence the delay while it reads it back into RAM again.
     

Share This Page