MacBook Pro MC026LL/A Memory upgrade?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ngraysva, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #1
    I have a MacBook Pro with an intel core 2 duo with only 1gb of ram, back from 2009... Anyone know what the max gb of ram I can upgrade this to? This will def help the speed? It runs really slow and I just wiped the entire computer .. And does it have to be the Samsung memory ? Anyone have links they can show me?

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
  5. macrumors 6502

    Knoodles

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Gone to the Beach
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Instructions are linked to in the RAM guide I posted the link to.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #7
    Aluminium MacBook Pro (2006 - 2008)
    In 2006 Apple introduced the 15" and 17" MacBook Pros, which are the successor to the PowerBook and sharing the same outer shell.

    The MacBook Pro uses Intel's Core Duo and Core 2 Duo CPUs and all models use and accept 200-pin 667 MHz PC2-5300 DDR2 SO-DIMM SDRAM.
    The Core Duo MacBook Pros (2006) can have a maximum RAM of 2GB. (info)
    The first Core 2 Duo MacBook Pros (late 2006 - 2007) can take 4GB, but only utilises 3GB of it. (info)
    The Core 2 Duo MacBook Pros using the Santa Rosa platform (late 2007) can take up to 6GB of RAM and fully utilise it. (info)


    its saying i can only go to 6 gb ?? :(
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #8
    this was my mistake, mine is the NON-unibody model...

    15 inch
    2.16 GHZ Intel Core 2 Duo
    1GB Ram


    maybe ill try and sell it on craigslist or something, the memory wont work for what i need it for...
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #9
    What do you mean by this? And your model supports 8GB, not 6, like sim said.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #10
    my model is the 2006-2008 model which is the non unibody, and i think it only TRULY supports 4GB like shown on here...

    i do a lot of video editing using final cut pro, and run alot of adobe programs at once so i need the memory...

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=12403893&postcount=6
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #11
    So your model is not the same one you listed in the title? Can you go to About This Mac -> More Info and take a screenshot like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #12
    Yes that was my mistake I used the wrong item number. This is mine. Its the non unibody 2006-08 model. I will take a pic " about this Mac" when I get out of work.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352922169.083466.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1352922178.816396.jpg
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #13
    I'm learning more as I go along here lol. I've had so many macs already but I now finally have the time to learn more about them and not just hop on one to design stuff.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #14
    Yeah, that's definitely the non-unibody model. Unfortunately, I can't tell from those pictures alone whether it's the model that will only take 4GB (technically 3GB) or 6.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ngraysva

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Location:
    mars
    #15
    Another quick question. It's so slow watching YouTube videos at 720 and 1080. It's laggy. If I add 4gb of memory will that help ? My Internet speed is like 50 and my other computers run fast.
     

Share This Page