MacBook Pro new arrivals thread

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NeuronBasher, Feb 21, 2006.

  1. NeuronBasher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #1
    My MacBook Pro arrived just under a half an hour ago. I'm typing this in Safari on it right now. So far, in the extremely limited use I have had, it's everything I hoped for and more. I couldn't be happier with it right now.

    I'm happy to answer questions that anyone might have, but I'll be offline for a while. Going to install my second stick of memory to bring it up to 2GB and reinstall 10.4.5 from scratch -- just because. :)
     
  2. EGT macrumors 68000

    EGT

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #2
    When you get it all maxed out and set up properly, see how long it takes to boot up and log in.

    Congrats on getting one. :)
     
  3. meathed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    #3
    I'm just sitting here waiting for mine... it's killing me, it's on the truck and it's on the way...
     
  4. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
  5. EGT macrumors 68000

    EGT

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #5
    Oh yes, forgot about that. Also, can you specify energy settings like the current portables?

    I read somewhere that it's managed automatically. :confused:
     
  6. AliensAreFuzzy macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    My friend's 2.0 GHz just arrived this morning, but he is pissed because his parents won't let him open it.
     
  7. PeterKG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    #7
    How quiet is it? Do you hear the HD or fan noise? Hows the build? Any flaws? Is your LCD perfect? Or do you have dark corners, etc.?
     
  8. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #8
    Battery Life and Airport Reception (From pics I think the airport antennas are at a new location)
     
  9. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #9
    why did you have to reinstall 10.4.5 - The laptop doesn't come with dells bloatware does it? hehe [​IMG]

    2GB - wicked!

    Can't wait for Rev B, will start saving next week when I get paid! [​IMG]
     
  10. NeuronBasher thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #10
    Quick update:

    I installed the second 1GB memory module (damn, you need a TINY screwdriver to get the memory cover off!) and it seems to be working fine. Does anyone with an iMac Core Duo know how to tell if it's running in dual channel or not?

    Airport reception has been fine in my house so far. The meter has been full no matter where I am in the house. Definitely better than my Dell or my wife's Compaq.

    Time for the OS reinstall. I'll be back in a while.
     
  11. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #11
    Callibrating the battery

    Is it best to start it up with it plugged in into you get a full charge and then let it fully uncharge until it dies? Or is it best not to plug it in and let it die to callibrate the battery.
     
  12. spencecb macrumors 6502a

    spencecb

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    #12
    There are very specific calibration instructions on Apple's website which is accessible through the MacBook Pro's page.

    Here is the link:

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86284
     
  13. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #13
    Why are you reinstalling OSX? Is that recommended?
     
  14. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    I always do a fresh install of OSX on my new rigs. Strip away all the different languages, Office Test Drive, print drivers I'll never use, and you can get the full OS in under 2GB (saving roughly 2GB total) without the iLife Apps.
     
  15. NeuronBasher thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #15
    In all honesty, it was probably unnecessary. You can save a few gigabytes of space by deselecting the languages and printer drivers that you don't need when you install. You can always clean up an existing installation, but I just wanted to start in a known clean state that I configured to my needs.

    Besides, I haven't installed OSX in a long time and I wanted to walk through the process so I won't have to fumble around if I need to reinstall in an emergency.
     
  16. NeuronBasher thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #16
    I'm going to calibrate my battery tonight so that I'll be able to give an accurate report of this hopefully tomorrow.
     
  17. Koutsi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #17
    Could someone please tell which resolutions MacBook Pro supports for an external LCD display? I'd need 1360/1366/1368 x 768 pixels for my LCD tv. Thanks a lot! I have the 2 GHz MBP coming late next month.
     
  18. nylon macrumors 6502a

    nylon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #18
    It supports upto 2560 x 1600. It can run the 30" Apple Cinema display without issue.
     
  19. g0gie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #19
    I got my macbook this morning... and after 3 hours... my HD DIed!!!!!!!!!! OMGOMOGMOGMOGOO. i had the 7200rpm model CTO too....
     
  20. itgoesbuzz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Location:
    royal oak, mi
    #20
    are you serious? bummer.
     
  21. asencif macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    #21
    Looks like you might be the first casualty. So the machine won't boot up at all huh? DO you happen to have Diskwarrior?
     
  22. EGT macrumors 68000

    EGT

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #22
    Really? Did you drop it or anything? What exactly happened before it died?
     
  23. entropy1980 macrumors regular

    entropy1980

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Canyon Country, CA
    #23
    Mine arrived this morning (2.0 stock) and it's awesome! Build quality is fantastic (better than the Powerbook G4 Dual layer I sold to buy this). No dead pixels and it's fast :)
     
  24. g0gie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #24
    didnt drop it or anything. DId a clean install of OSX. All was good. isntalled some widgits played with frontrow and photobooth allw as good. Was inthe middle of isntalling XCODE when everything froze. now only get white screen and a clicking nise :(
     
  25. Winstonp macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #25
    that's the worst thing I've ever heard in my entire life!
     

Share This Page