Macbook Pro on Apple Cinema Display

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by toomuchstereo, Mar 3, 2006.

  1. toomuchstereo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #1
    I am currentlly stuck between buying a Macbook Pro or iMac. And it comes down to productivity at home. I prefer a bigger screen, but like the portability.

    I would want to connect to a 20" ACD, and I'm just wondering if anyone has had any problems with their MacBook Pro running in clamshell mode, overheating, not switching video to external source...etc.

    Thanks
     
  2. PeterKG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    #2
    Mine is working perfecly connected to my 20" ACD. I keep it closed, and heat is not an issue.
     
  3. Peyton macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #3
    I'd say you'd have the best of both words with the MBP. iMac is a little redundant with the 20 ACD. iMac is faster, even faster than the 2.16 MBP and has a bigger hard drive, but...

    But, you get the great silvery matching matching going on with the MBP:rolleyes: .
     
  4. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #5
    Apple designs it so you can use it in clamshell mode. Plus then all your VRAm goes to your cinema display. It will work great. Nice setup!
     
  5. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #6
    I would use both screens at the same time. If you get the 2.0GHz version, each screen will get 128MB of video memory, which should be lots to each.

    I plan on using both at the same time (I use both with my iBook now...with only 16MB each...a little painful, but I love having 2 screens when I'm not traveling).
     
  6. toomuchstereo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #7
    Thanks alot for your replies. My decision has been made.....MacBook Pro.
     
  7. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #8
    Hey, why not get 2?!?!? :D :D
     

Share This Page