Macbook Pro RAM question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Zmaran, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #1
    I have a Macbook Pro 6.2 ( 15inch mid 2010 2.4 GHz core i5). I want to upgrade my RAM from 4gb to 8gb modules. I believe that the compatible RAM is the DDR3 1066 MHz modules but I was wondering if I would be able to use the 1333 MHz one's instead as those are the only one's available nearby.

    I have been searching high and dry for this compatibility question and even though I get information regarding the same query, but not for the particular mbp that I own. Can anyone verify the 1333MHz compatibility for mbp 6.2 ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #3
    I was under the impression that the motherboard forces the RAM modules to underclock if they aren't compatible ??? You just swapped the RAM sticks, that's it right?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    The 2009 and 2010 MBPs come with 1067MHz RAM, but some 2009 MBPs are able to recognise 1333MHz RAM as 1333MHz RAM, if there are two of them and no 1067MHz RAM module is combined with a 1333MHz module.

    And yes, I first bought one 1333MHz module, which was down clocked, but now I have two 1333MHz modules working at 1333MHz in my 2009 MBP.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #5
    See that's the thing, I have seen the core i7 model of 2010 mbp and a bunch of 2009 models, including yours, work with 1333Mhz RAM but haven't had any confirmation of the 15inch core i5 mid 2010 mbp model supporting that RAM. :(
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    If that is the only RAM available to you, then get it. It will work, maybe it will be down-clocked, but it will work.
    I bought CnMemory RAM, which is not a top brand, and it works fine.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #7
    1333 MHz sticks will work fine in your machine. Been there, done that.

    Even if your machine only runs it at 1067 MHz you'll never see the difference in real world use; only on artificial (albeit fun) benchmarks.

    And just because the machine shows it as 1333 MHz does NOT mean it is actually running at that speed.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    But I have seen an increase. Porn does render faster now, it just takes two seconds instead of three for that grandiose finale.

    In all funniness, is there a way to test, at which speed the RAM runs at and not just is registered at?
     

Share This Page