Macbook Pro Ram: Where to Buy!?!?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by erkanasu, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #1
    holy ****, the prices skyrocked on crucial( went from $115 - $175)! I want to boost my new macbook pro( when it arrives) from 512 - 1.5 gb, so I need a cheap 1 gig stick. Im sure lots of us are in the same boat. Anyone find 1 gig sticks cheap (no crap brands)?!?! please post some links

    -paul
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    sw1tcher

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
  3. macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Check out New Egg. I bought 8 gigs of Crucial RAM for my G5 there for much cheaper than Crucial actually sells it. With 2 day shipping and taxes it came to 764. They are just about the cheapest on the web for RAM. Also, I once bought a NEC dual-layer internal DVD burning drive there for 43 dollars. So yeah.

    Otherwise I would check Crucial. They make/sell a grip of memory to some of the biggest names. As well, they guarantee compatibility with whatever you Mac model is.

    www.newegg.com

    www.crucial.com
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I got the data systems memory for 108 each, :cool:

    I bought them as soon as I heard about them.

    The price is INSANE now adays. It's like everyone thinks they can get like 15-70 dollars more profit just because!
     
  5. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    And if you buy it from NewEgg, Crucial do NOT guarantee compatibility, because NewEgg only sell the generic Crucial part numbers -- so you take the job of testing for compatibility on yourself. May work, may not, depending on the Mac model and the RAM offered. I am also critical of any company that allows for charging you 15% restocking fee if you want your money back on incompatible RAM.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    True. If you buy Crucial RAM from New Egg, Crucial will not guarantee it's compatibility. But before I spent a lot of money, I spoke to Crucial 2 times specifically to make sure that the RAM New Egg is selling IS EXACTLY THE SAME. The only difference is the product number. Crucial is wired that way. They have multiple product numbers for the same RAM. The only reason for that is they have product numbers for each hardware company. So the same exact RAM has two product numbers. One for PC's and one for Mac. It's just for categorization purposes.

    It tripped me out, but I made sure that it was the same. I'm worrier so it was important to me that I was getting a compatible product.

    Good luck in your endeavors.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #7
    fwiw i've returned to memory to newegg...very easy but had to pay a 15% restocking fee. and yes, my exact line wsa "it didnt work in my computer." no questions asked. and i suppose if you buy uber-cheap ram twice to get the right stuff, even with the fee it's still cheaper :cool:

    :eek:
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #8
    Hi Guys

    has anyone had any problems using Kingston ram in their intel macs?

    Thanks
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    AJBMatrix

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    Athens, Georgia
    #9
  10. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    I've used kingston memory before and got burnt.. In fact the only probelms I've ever encountered with memory in macs came from the kingston mem I used.. Since that day I've alway's used CRUCIAL and found them to be perfect, no trouble at all with any of my computers..

    Obviously my experience may not be indicative of the quality of Kingston in general...
     
  11. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    He is advertising a generic chip in this auction, not Crucial.
    Auction terms have somewhat predatory shipping prices - US$15 for two RAM modules sent through US Mail to US destination.

    The Kingston KTA-MB667/1G isthe correct model for the MacBook Pro.

    Any Kingston ValueRAM KVR- series RAM is iffy in a Mac, and as noted in a previous post, it is not indicitive of Kingston's quality that their generic ValueRAM doesn't work -- Kingston never intended for it to be used in Macs.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #12
    I would want to do the same thing, but if I get applecare with my Mackbook Pro, would this void it?
     
  13. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #13
    FYI, a search (or a new thread as a last resort) would have been a better option than dragging up a six month old thread.

    But no, upgrading RAM is a do-it-yourself project. It does not void the standard warranty or AppleCare unless you really screw up the rest of your computer in the process, which is pretty hard to do. (i.e. Don't use a blowtorch at any point in the process of installing RAM.)
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    #14
    Crucial sucks!!!

    Please take your time and check this thread and then decide if it is worth getting any RAM from Crucial. Try OWC or Datamem.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=218162
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    #15
    Believe me, depending on the browser or machine you use to access Crucial online, you'll get different prices for the same memory module...
    Take your time and check this thread...
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=218162
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena, Maryland
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #17
    Wow, the prices that are stated above are hilarious!

    The prices not long ago were just amazing compared to now!
     
  18. macrumors 601

    Phrasikleia

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Over there------->
    #18
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #19
    Should work, as far as I know:

    PC2-5300 - check
    667MHz - check
    DDR2 - check
    200 pin - check

    Should work!
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #22
    I was looking to bump my RAM in my Pro up to 4 gigs and i purchase two 2gig sticks by Transcend (jm667qsu-2g)....and i am not pleased at all.....i use my mac book to run multiple audio programs live on stage...i'm a dj.....and about one hour into my the computer started to glitch and i totally lost sound....horrible...

    it seems that this is a tell tale sign of bad , low end RAM......is Transcend not the greatest match for my macbook pro intel......its less than 6 months old......i have not really had running these programs with the 2 gigs it came with, but i am just really trying to ensure my saftey up on stage ya know......it came with Micron from Mac...should i just stick with that brand?? or can someone recommend something better.?

    thanks again....

    a novice in need of help!!
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    #23
    just look at newegg, the reviews will tell if it'll work in a mbp
     
  24. macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
  25. macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #25
    I second this! My 4GB running beautiful :)
     

Share This Page