Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

andreyush

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 24, 2015
Hello!

Is a rMBP mid-2014 with i5 2.8ghz and 8GB ram enough for Logic Pro X?
I am a begginer on this and I will not use so many tracks and many plug-ins.

Another question: is 13" screen enough to work on Logic Pro X ?

I am a guitarist and I just want to do some basic recording and mixing but I want to know if the rMBP 13" is able to do this and more because maybe someday I will need more power and I want to be sure that the CPU is powerfull enough :D .

xb2003

macrumors 6502
Jan 18, 2016
MO
It's plenty capable. Is the screen big enough? I mean that's debateable. If I'm working on a small project on just messing around with with ideas, my 15" is fine and I could use a 13". But larger projects need a bigger or multiple monitors.

Seriously though, just get Logic and start learning and creating, your Mac is fine. Most of the Macs around my university's music tech program are running Core 2s and 4GB of ram, and even those are plenty capable.

Reactions: andreyush

andreyush

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 24, 2015
It's plenty capable. Is the screen big enough? I mean that's debateable. If I'm working on a small project on just messing around with with ideas, my 15" is fine and I could use a 13". But larger projects need a bigger or multiple monitors.

Seriously though, just get Logic and start learning and creating, your Mac is fine. Most of the Macs around my university's music tech program are running Core 2s and 4GB of ram, and even those are plenty capable.

Nice to hear this (or read) ! Mac ftw. Thanks !

djippy

macrumors newbie
Apr 9, 2015
Montreal, Ca.
Depending on what you do and which sample rate you record, this is a fast enough computer for sure.