Macbook Pro screen stays black

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RocketLove, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #1
    Since last night, I closed my macbook pro 15" while it was on and opened it and had a black screen. I turned it off, took out the batteryand nothing helped. I tried to reset the PRAM but it didn't seem to work. I was going to reinstall OSX to see if that would do anything but I'm afraid it won't. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    Nebraska
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #3
    ^ what they said

    also,

    Does the computer seem to turn on, but just the screen doesn't turn on...?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #5
    I bought it in 2008 its the Macbook Pro 15" with a 2.4 GHZ processer
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #6
    I hear a clicking noise for when it starts to turn off and then nothing, the light at the front of the computer is faint and stays faint
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #8
    can you connect your macbook pro to an external monitor and see if the external monitor gets any signal?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #9
    No I can't, I don't have the cables for it.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #10
    Bring it in to an apple store, your graphics card is most likely shot, it's been a known problem for almost 3 years now. Apple will put in a new logic board for free under the extended warranty on that graphics card(4 years from date of purchase). I have the same computer and got mine changed a few weeks ago.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #11
    I did, I saw that before when I was trying to find solutions before, thats what I'm afraid of. I just can't pay for the cost to repair the computer.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #12
    there is no cost for repair for that issue. Apple will do it for free even if you are not under warranty. It is an issue with NVIDIA.

    But we are not yet sure that if your issue is with the Logic Board..
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #13
    I think I will, having this happens is very frustrating
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #14
    I had my Logic Board replaced thrice for this issue. Very annoying.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #15
    Wow, did you end up getting a new computer or just kept fixing that one
     

Share This Page