MacBook Pro: Static on full volume?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chosenwolf, Apr 9, 2006.

  1. chosenwolf macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Anyone else experiencing this? When I boot my MBP and the boot sound plays, it will sound "staticy" at the peak? Also, sometimes when I play songs through iTunes it will sound distorted a bit? This only happens at full volume (all bars).
     
  2. Alan_Arkin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    #2
    I had this problem, or something close to it. The right speaker on my MBP was distorted or out of balance with the left speaker. The alert beep sounded scratchy and music really sounded like crap, particularly when you shifted the balance all the way to the right. I brought it back to the Apple Store, and they replaced the MBP. It really made music unlistenable. I have seen others complain about this, though the replacement unit sounds fine.
     
  3. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Thank you, I knew there was a problem. I'll go visit the Apple Store. I'm a victim of every issue (this, whine, dim brightness, hot underside, apx)
     
  4. Alan_Arkin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    #4
    I can appreciate your plight. I am on my 4th Macbook Pro, not counting one replacement which couldn't boot up at the store. I have had dead pixels in the center of the screen, bad VRAM, a bad right speaker and strange hard drive sound, and a failed logic board/searing heat. All of them had the CPU whine to some extent. This one seems like it will make it, as it has none of those problems, and has a later serial number (W8612). I do know how annoying the bad speaker was. I had seen on the internet that people were having problems with the quality of the right speaker, but I knew it couldn't be normal. Good luck!
     
  5. chosenwolf thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Wow, that's terrible! 4 MBP's! The problem is I already "set up shop" on my Macbook. I would need to get all the files transferred over. Glad to know that the issue is common though.
     

Share This Page