Macbook Pro upgrade Yonah to Merom?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DeeCee, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. DeeCee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Does anybody think that the current Macbook Pro (Yonah) will be upgradable to Merom when it comes out?
     
  2. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    The CPU is a drop in replacement _BUT_ the CPUs are soldered on to the notebooks mainboard, so yeah if you have the skills to remove the CPU and then solder a new one on it'll work.

    Good luck with that. ;)
     
  3. craigatkinson macrumors regular

    craigatkinson

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #3
    No, I believe the macbook pro's cpu is soldered into the logic board.

     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    The Apple Intel laptops use soldered CPU's. Currently on the iMac and mini can have their CPU's. Even then mini has the easiest to replace CPU.
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    It is, and it isn't an easy one to remove.

    It is surface mounted, with a big lip all around the CPU (cannot see the solder joints from above or below) -- making it darned hard to remove.

    So basically, sell and buy a new machine to upgrade -- or take the risk of ruining the machine upgrading it.
     
  6. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #6
    i actually thought the macbook's (not macbook pro's) CPU was NOT soldered to the logic board. am i wrong?
     
  7. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7

    Yes, but not by yourself. You will probably be able to do it via a processor upgrade from companies such as OWC and Daystar (both companies make cpu upgrades for PowerBook G4s- which have a soldered on cpu as far as i know). :)
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I believe they take your logic board as a trade in and replace it with the faster one.
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    Both soldered on, the MacBook board is similar design to the Pro -- just one big chip less (GPU) and a different shape.

    Top and Bottom you cannot see any pins -- thus you cannot get a soldering iron in there.
     
  10. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #10
    They might do that, not sure. But they currently offer up to a 2GHz PowerPC G4 upgrade for the PowerBook G4.

    I imagine that they will offer some sort of upgrade solution for the MacBook & MacBook Pros. :)
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    The thing is that Daystar uses the PowerPC 7448 "Apollo 8". That's a spiffy fast up to 2 GHz G4 with a 200 MHz bus. I don't think you'd easily solder off the old PowerPC 7447 "Apollo 7" and add that new fast CPU.
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12
    No, I suppose that it would not be a very easy upgrade to remove a soldered on G4 (or any chip for that matter). But I am hoping that someone will be able to do it for the MacBook Pro. :)
     
  13. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #13
    on a slightly related topic, are there processor upgrades for a G4 mac mini?
     
  14. FullmetalZ26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #14
    I'm pretty sure the CPU for the G4 mini is soldered as well, unfortunately... If you still have the stock hard drive, you may be able to eke out some extra performance by upgrading to a 5400 or 7200 RPM drive (and obviously max out the RAM).
     
  15. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #15

    No, not that I am aware of. :eek:
     

Share This Page