Macbook Pro: Using the mic port as a second headphone port?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DSchwartz88, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #2
    Nope. I'd get an audio splitter of some type.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DSchwartz88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #3
    i know the y splitters and stuff but i meant write a program or something even if the audio through the mic port came out as mono, is it possible?
     
  3. ebouwman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    sounds like a good idea, i dont know of anything that would do that, but i would really like to find out.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    How would you write a program that would rewire the hardware connections inside the Mac?

    Curious...
     
  5. ModestPenguin macrumors 6502

    ModestPenguin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    OKC
    #6
    Duh. Magic.:p
     
  6. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #7
    actually i believe you don't need to, just need to change the way the signal goes. if you plug a headphone in the audio out of the mac, you can actually use it as a mic (with poor results).
     
  7. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #8
    that's because a mic and a speaker use the same basic principles in construction.
    the same way that every electric motor can also be used as a generator.
     
  8. DSchwartz88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #9
    im not saying rewire the hardware card, but there has go to be some way to write a program to instead of capturing the sound from the mic port to push out the sound, im not saying itll be good quality or even good mono quality but i would imagine its feasable since its all just wires and signals. Now, if the hardware on the card was the one choosing what is a mic sound and vice versa then its a problem because then i would imagine you would need to reflash the sound card firmware to make it work which is wll beyond my limits. Just was wondering.
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Not possible - as said, it would involve re-wiring the sound card. It isn't a software configuration that determines which slot is used for input and which is for output; it's the hardware configuration.
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    No, if you plug headphones into the audio IN of a Mac, it will record some very bad low level signal from the miniscule voltage generated by shouting into the headphone speakers and forcing them to vibrate acoustically.

    That has nothing to do with swopping the input for the output.

    Kind like saying "Hey, let's pump gasoline up the tailpipe of a car and run the motor that way."

    Yup. Just change a few wires and signals and your television can be a microwave oven, too.
     
  11. ebouwman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    i still think that this would be a really good idea, too bad you can't really do that.
    I never use a mic and if i did start using one i could just use a usb mic.
     
  12. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #13
    I'm curious about something that's fundamentally similar to using the mic jack as a headphone one:

    I plug my MBP into the wall to charge it. Does that mean there's a simple software hack so that, if the electricity goes out to my house during a storm, my MBP can power it?
     
  13. ebouwman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    That wouldn't work very well i would think, it would drain your battery so fast, and i don't think it would be very healthy for your battery being drained so fast
     
  14. phidauex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    #15
    Re: Mic jack as headphone out.

    Not possible. There is an amplifier chain in the headphone out circuit that allows it to drive headphones. These opamps aren't in the input chain, so it will never drive a heaphone. Sorry, mechanically impossible.

    Re: Powering your house from the macbook battery.

    Even if you could, you'd destroy the battery and only get a few minutes of power, but don't worry, you can't. Unlike a simple AC transformer, switch-mode power supplies aren't bidirectional, they can't make voltage going 'the wrong way', since they can't act as inverters.

    Fun ideas, though. ;)

    peace,
    sam
     
  15. konfuzion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #16
    very impressive answer.
    and I'm proud because my name is Sam as well.
     
  16. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #17
    that's exactly what i was saying when i used "with poor results"
     
  17. leboots macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    #18
    hostility

    i dunno what all the hostility and ridiculous sarcasm is all about... if you run linux (sabayon, in particular, if you want to try it out - it can boot live) it actually maps both the audio ports as outputs. worked fine on my MBP... just need someone to map it differently on OSX. :apple:
     
  18. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #19
    Although it maps them both as outputs, I'd doubt the mic port would output sound; linux may see them both as outputs but that's a software misconfiguration. You cannot change the physics of the hardware with software.

    If you are correct, I'd want proof so I can bang my head off the desk and wonder how the heck it would work :p
     
  19. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #20
    I had a Soundblaster with 5.1 and it could switch the inputs and outputs via a peice of software, I cant show proof but I know it can be done on at least a few soundcards.
     
  20. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #21
    Interesting...never knew that.

    Sound quality exactly the same? How would you switch the input to an output if it was surround sound, would all the sound come out the mic socket?

    Could be an experiment for the MBP - would be quite good having 2 headphone sockets.
     
  21. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #22
    Well come to think of it i dont think it was the Soundblaster that did this it was an OEM and I cant remember the brand, it had the rear, front and center outputs and the center output could be swapped for another input. This was on a windows machine.
     
  22. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #23
    Ah. Sounds like the centre port is a dual port; I've seen on a few computers there is one 3.5mm jack and is wired so you can either pass audio out of it or collect audio going into it.

    Was a specially designed jack.

    But saying that, I'm not an expert on this and could be wrong.
     
  23. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #24
    Im sorry to say but I dont think anybody is an expert on this. It seems like nobody really knows and we are all guessing.
     
  24. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #25
    I will say that on many of the newer soundcards, they will autodetect what type of device is plugged into any individual port, and remap output/input appropriately. Therefore, it is highly probable that the MBP might have this capability, and therefore be able to output through the line-in jack as well.
     

Share This Page