Macbook Pro VS PowerMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by powermac_daddy, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. powermac_daddy macrumors 6502

    powermac_daddy

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia & Northern California
    #1
    Just curious. Why one is faster? Let's say use for graphic/video editing.

    Macbook Pro:
    2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    3GB memory
    160GB hard drive @ 5400 rpm
    ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics with 256MB

    PowerMac:
    G5 Dual 2.7GHz
    3GB memory
    250GB hard drive @ 7200 rpm
    NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL with 256MB

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Next Mac(s) with OX 10.5. AutoCAD on Mac. Believable or what? Those poor "PC is the machine for architecture" users are gonna go crazy.....
     
  2. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #2
    I would say that the PowerMac would be faster, but since it's PowerPC and not Intel, it may be difficult to get much software for it in the future.

    If I were you I would go for the MacBook Pro, afterall it's a pretty fast machine, but if you REALLY need that extra power you might aswell go for the PowerMac.
     
  3. powermac_daddy thread starter macrumors 6502

    powermac_daddy

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia & Northern California
    #3
    Honestly, I'm waiting for the next MacBook Pro with 10.5
    I hope to see something like:

    hard drive 250GB @ 5400 rmp
    4GB or 6GB memory
    Video card ...... 512MB?

    How about "NO" for randomly shut down or over heat like the "just came out" Macbook 2.0GHz.

    Just a simple dream.......
     
  4. powermac_daddy thread starter macrumors 6502

    powermac_daddy

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia & Northern California
  5. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

    ktbubster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    US
    #5
    AutoCAD coming out for OSx? Really? or do you just mean running it on bootcamp or parrallels?

    What i woudl REALLLY want to see is Rhino, Solidworks and StudioViz made for Native OSX. THAT would be great. I am an Industrial (product) Design major and i HATE using Windows, but we have to for those programs. BAH.


    For a Major that makes up over half the reason we love them so much (their awesome looks and design, infact 3 graduates from my schools programs work for mac and were on the team that designed the IPod initially) we aren't allowed to use them for over half our stuff BOOO.
     
  6. powermac_daddy thread starter macrumors 6502

    powermac_daddy

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia & Northern California
    #6
    i am talking about use bootcamp.

    so yeah. i am wondering about the performance of CAD. Yeah, Rhino... Rhino on a mac, bootcamp or parrallels...
     

Share This Page