Macbook RAM Install

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macdaddy121, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. macdaddy121 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia
    #1
    I am getting my macbook today and I have 2 gb of ram sitting and home waiting for it. I want to try out the machine before putting the ram in. I would like to see the performance increase between stock and what I am going to have. Is this a bad idea?

    Should I install it before turning it on or what?
    I just don't want to mess anything up.
    Thanks.
     
  2. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #2
    Don't see why there would be any problem.

    Actually, I think turning it on first would be best. You want to make sure everything is a-okay before you make any other changes. So I would reccomend truning it on and trying out everything, then add your new RAM.

    You would hate to have a dead computer and not know if it was the RAM or the computer itself (not saying this is going to happen).
     
  3. macdaddy121 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    You better not jinx me....;) ....just kidding....good idea though. I will turn it on and make sure everything is running well before I start adding and changing things.
     
  4. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #4
    Since there are a million RAM topics, may I please ask a question here? :)

    I have the 1.83GHz MacBook with the stock 512mb of RAM. I don't have a whole lotta money (especially after my main purchase of this notebook 1.5 weeks ago hehe...) and I was wondering if I would be able to buy ONE 1GB ram stick now, and later on get one to be fully upgraded to the 2GB max? I mean, what if later on down the road, when I have been on my 1.25GB of ram, I can no longer find the exact brand or kind of ram I used for the 1GB stick I'd be buying today in the present? Does that matter? Do I have to, or should I, have the same exact type and brand of ram sticks or can they be mixed as long as they are both PC5300 or whatever?

    Advice please! :D
     
  5. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #5
    Probably would have been better to make your own thread, but anyway...
    Yes you can mix RAM (which is what I have done) but i have heard that the computer is really picky about what are two of the same memory modules. If you can afford it, get as much as you can, but if you can't, the computer will accept 1024+256.
     
  6. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #6
    I understand that part... but what I'm asking is if I do that (get 1GB now, and 1GB later) - does the 1GB stick I get later, have to match what I buy "today"? Does that matter? As far as brand, etc.?

    Thanks :)
     
  7. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #7
    No, it shouldn't matter. As long as the two modules have the same speed and latency (the latter isn't an issue now, but could be later).
     

Share This Page