Macbook ram revisited

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mccldwll, Jul 22, 2006.

  1. mccldwll macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #1
    Consensus is that 2 x 512mb is minimum and 2 x 1gb is best, but along that spectrum, who really needs how much? Has anyone done any testing? For what uses is 1 gb enough? When is there any noticeable difference between 1 and 1.25, etc.? Also, since lowest price of 1gb sticks seems to be around $80, that there is little market for the original 256mb chips (and some have suggested that should keep around anyway in case have to send back), unless you want to go all the way to 2gb might it make just as much sense to go ahead and order w/ 2 x 512mb (only $100 more)? And if you later decide you want to add, those original apple 512 ram chips have a market value.
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    I'm not going to argue much with Apple on this one, just add that applications running through Rosetta are extremely RAM hungry.

    Oh, and remember that the Integrated GPU takes about 80MB of whatever RAM you got...

    With 2GB the MacBook flies... :D

    Edit: The 1GB + 256 configuration can be good if you're on a budget and cannot afford 2 x 1GB now. Instead of upgrading to 2 x 512 which has to be replaced if you want to upgrade later, get 1GB + 256 and then get another 1GB module later when you can afford it. 1GB + 256 should even outperform 2 x 512 for most tasks.

    But no matter what you do: Do not buy your RAM from Apple! You can get 2 x 1GB 3rd party RAM for (much) less than Apple's upgrade to 2 x 512(!).
     
  3. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    Apple rips people off when it comes to RAM. 2 gigs of ram should never cost over 200, but apple costs 500! :eek:
     
  4. mccldwll thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #4
    Agree apple 1gb sticks are ridiculously expensive, but 2 x 512 initially from apple about same price as 1gb stick aftermarket. If performance (1gb v. 1.25gb) about the same, running matched ram from beginning seems like it might make sense. It eliminates any quality/compatibility issues which is always possible. Also, isn't there some chance of future compatibility problem if add 1 gb now and add 1 gb later? While not necessary, doesn't it at least lessen chance of ram problems if add in pairs/batchmates? Obviously if going to 2 gb initially, aftermarket only way to go, but for some (including myself at the moment) that could be overkill.
     
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    No, as long as they are the same speed and latency (neither of which should be a problem) they should work just fine together... :)
     

Share This Page