MacBook RAM Upgrade Shutdown Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by elhammond, Oct 15, 2006.

  1. elhammond macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    I have gotten two different kinds of RAM from two different places to upgrade my MacBook's RAM from 512MB to 2GB. After I installed both, my MacBook started to shut down randomly (panic sets in riiiiight....now) When I put my old RAM back in, the RAM that came with my MacBook, it works fine. Has anybody else had this? Is it the RAM or the logic board I have heard about? If I leave the 3rd party RAM in will Applecare even look at my machine? Or with they just say "It's the RAM"? Please somebody help a guy new to Mac. This is my first one and other than the discoloration and this random shut down thing, I absolutely love it.

    Peace and thanks,
    Eric
     
  2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    what does it do when it shutds down? does it freeze up then go black, or does it just die instantly?

    If you've tested it with the origial RAM, logic tells me its a RAM problem. But the extra RAM may have caused some more heat, putting more stress on the heatsink, which Apple has found to be faulty.
     
  3. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    It just shuts completely off and dies instantly.
     
  4. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  5. Cole Slaw macrumors 6502a

    Cole Slaw

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    It sounds like incompatible RAM, if the problem only occurrs with the new stuff you bought but it all works fine with the original.
     
  6. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    I was thinking that would be very unlikely because I got 2 different types from 2 different places, but it sounds like you are right. I just want it to work! Anybody else have an opinion?
     
  7. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    Indeed, buy Apple (or at least brand name) certified/tested ram next time. It will save you the hassle.

    What timings do the two sticks of ram have?
     
  8. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #8
    When I called applecare about the random shutdowns on my machine, they had me run a test to check the memory, (i think you hold "d" during bootup) and the test said the memory was fine. so now i've got to send it in....:(

    i also upgraded the RAM myself, and am wondering if i should switch it back to the original before i send it in, or what. i thought i read somewhere that it doesn't void the warranty if you upgrade yourself, but i'm not sure....
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    rockin; Send your machine back with the stock Apple RAM -- Apple won't be covering third-party RAM in any case.

    elhammond; which specific brand and model of RAM had you installed?
     
  10. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #10
    I got it from ramjet, here is the link http://www.ramjet.com/ItemDescription.asp?Item=MBIB2G
     
  11. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    Nothing obvious out of order with that, unless you just got monstrously unlucky and got 2 defective module out of 4, neatly spaced in 2 pairs.
     
  12. bill4588 macrumors 6502a

    bill4588

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #12
    i've had the same problem with random shutdowns but with mine it occurs even with the stock apple ram. i recently installed a program this morning called smcFanControl http://www.conscius.de/~eidac/index.html which regulates the speed of the fan and haven't had a shut down all day. i went to my apple store about a month ago and they said that it's a logic board and heat sink problem and they could have it fixed in a few days. But since i need it for college I'm waiting for some down time when i don't need it....which is likely to be thanksgiving :(
     
  13. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #13
    So do you think I should try getting one more set of RAM until I send it in to applecare?
     
  14. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #14
    i would just send it back now with its origanal RAM in as it is clearly defective
     
  15. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #15
    OK :(
     
  16. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #16
    Is there anyway to tell the Apple Genuis that I have tried installing multiple 3rd party sets of RAM and all of them don't work. Then the Genuis says it's a faulty machine not the RAM. Or will they just say it's the RAM? I know I have to put the original RAM back in to take it back to the Apple Store.

    E
     
  17. bill4588 macrumors 6502a

    bill4588

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kennesaw, GA
    #17
    well in your case since the problem stops when you put the original ram back in, the genius will tell you that it's the ram. but with me it happened with both the original and 3rd party ram. if you're really afraid of them telling you that it's the ram that's the problem, just tell them that it happens with the original as well....not exactly the noble thing to do but it should get your computer fixed.
     
  18. elhammond thread starter macrumors newbie

    elhammond

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #18
    UPDATE:

    My Macbook has now started to shut down wil the old RAM in it. It's not the new RAM, Apple has to repair it. :)
     

Share This Page