MacBook & Safari 4

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by shady825, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #1
    So I've always used FireFox since the beginning of time pretty much but just this morning I decided to try out Safari 4.
    I actually REALLY like it! I think I like it enough to switch from FireFox!
    The "Top Sites" feature is pretty cool and everything seems to load super fast!

    Just curious if anyone else gonna make the switch from FireFox?

    One question I have about Safari is, where is the 'home' button??
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    My trying it depends on just how much SNAPPIER it is than Safari 3....

    :D:D:p
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #3
    I just noticed YouTube loads WAY faster too!
     
  4. macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location
    #4
    Safari was always a bit faster, but there were just a few things that weren't as good as FF. Firstly, Safari crashes more often on my machine. Secondly, if I go to the bookmarks drop-down menu and press "Apple + T" (or the scroll-wheel click button on a mouse), the webpage doesn't open in a new tab. It's really useful, and works in Firefox on Macs and Windows, and IE7 on Windows. The solution is to create a new tab first, then selecting the bookmark you want in the menu. However, it's an extra step, and I do a lot of web surfing.


    As good as Safari may be in terms of speed, the UI is lacking just the 1 thing that is actually
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #5
    I just tried "Apple + T" and it opens the "Top Sites" feature.. ?
    Also, is there a Home button on Safari? I cant find it haha! FireFox had the little house icon
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #6
    Is this what you were talking about??
     

    Attached Files:

  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #7
    i think the only thing holding me back from safari 4 is always the security issues and updates required.. that's why i seem to like camino better.. with that said hopefully the camino/mozilla folks are paying attention to this :D
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #8
    What security issues are you talking about? That RSS thing a little while back?
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #9
    I tried this but it crashes every time i start it up. Anybody have any ideas?!
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #10
    New tabs open on the Top Sites (same as clicking the 4x3 grid). When you click command-T you'll see a new tab at the top (I don't think I like where the tabs are - I prefer the traditional location, but that's mostly because I'm used to it, but also it's further to move the mouse. I'll have to start using command-shift-arrows). I expect the page is configurable but I haven't looked yet. (Edit: yes, Preferences -> General -> New Tabs open with)

    Safari doesn't display the Home button by default - command-shift-H does this with the keyboard, but you can also customize your Toolbar (Menu -> View -> Customize Toolbar).
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #11
    The way to load your homepage is Shift+CMD+H
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #12
    Do you have any Safari3 plug-in's installed/setup? Those may be causing issues.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #13
    Glims and SafariBlock.... hmm... maybe i'll try taking Glims off for right now just so I can take Safari 4 for a test drive.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #14
    Or customize your Toolbar for those used to all other browsers.

    Edit: oh ... no reload button in the toolbar or customize toolbar. command-R reloads, I know, but muscle memory brings my mouse to the top of the window. Edit 2: I'm dumb, reload is in the location field.
     
  15. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #15

    Or simply add a Home button to the toolbar.
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #16
    Very happy to say that i'm posting this from Safari 4 :)

    For anybody else who's having trouble with Safari 4 crashing at launch, you need to remove Glims from your system and then re-install Safari 4.
    That should fix the problem.
     
  17. macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location
    #17
    Yes, that's it, but it doesn't apply to what I'm talking about. Those only apply when your mouse cursor is hovering over a link. You can open up a link in a new tab quite easily. However, when you're going through your list of bookmarks and try to go to a website, the site opens in the current tab. It doesn't just create a new tab and go to the new site. Is that clearer?


    In Mozilla and other browsers, I can do this. Again, it's not a HUGE deal, particularly for those who never even considered this, but for me, it's a UI issue. Well, Safari crashing often didn't help either.
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #18
    So this is indeed REALLY fast.. I hope not all of it is due to clearing the cache, etc.
    I like the extra space due to having the tabs at the top, but i keep forgetting I have tabs open lol :D
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #19

    That's not true. If i click down on a list of bookmarks and hold Command and click my mouse on the link, it'll open in a new tab just like any other browser.
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #20
    How about trying it from another angle? You can configure new tab to open with your bookmarks.
     
  21. macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location
    #21
    Does it work if you click on the scroll-wheel button? That was always the main problem. Again, a UI thing. I shouldn't need a keyboard to browse when I'm surfing through my huge collection of porn bookmarks.

    All I remember about Safari was that there was 1 or 2 things you couldn't do on it that was possible on Mozilla. If they finally changed it, then great. If not, I'll keep waiting. I'll probably try Safari 4 anyway.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 68000

    shady825

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Location:
    Area 51
    #22

    Sorry for the misunderstanding. I see what your saying.
     
  23. macrumors 68040

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #23
    I have a mighty mouse so my scroll/wheel button does something else.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #24
    Using webkit latest build against safari 4 and the "snappier" feel just isn't there? Although safari 4 does have neat features I'm going to stick with webkit
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #25
    I'm liking it thus far =)
     

Share This Page