Macbook screen just went blue!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sunfast, Sep 24, 2006.

  1. sunfast macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    My screen suddenly took on a very blue tint!

    What do I do?

    Any help much appreciated! :eek:
     
  2. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Does nobody have any idea? I'm sorry to be a pain but it's really bothering me. My screen has this horrid blue tint.

    I've tried to calibrate the display using display preferences but it says

    "Can not calibrate the display
    The factory profile for the display could not be found."

    SuperCal looked to be fixing it during the process but it went blue again straight after.
     
  3. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    Sounds like an ICC profile went corrupt. Not sure which file you might be misisng, though. :(
     
  4. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Thanks for the help iG. I've downloaded some profiles for a MacBook but I don't know where they go exactly. How do I "use" a downloaded profile?
     
  5. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #5
    Click "Open Profile"

    [​IMG]

    Than when thats open, click open.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Thanks for the reply nitynate. I followed your instructions, clicked open from ColorSync Utility and that just gave me a window to open a profile. So I opened my downloaded profile and it just gave me a ColorSync window as before. Am I being stupid?
     
  7. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #7
    Would you mind taking a screen-cap of what the blue tint looks like?


    It would help a lot.

    And, could you attach the calibration file (in a zip) to a post so I can see if it works for me?


    Not to insult your intelligence, but if you do not know how to make a zip, just Control-Click and select "Make Archive of (said file.xxx)"

    [​IMG]
     
  8. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Here's a screen capture but would that show the tint, or is it just how the display is set up?

    Have attached the profile I downloaded

    Maybe tint is the wrong word - what I'm experiencing is very blue colour balance. I did SuperCal again and as soon as I finished it the screen went all blue again.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #9
    Have you tried Profile First Aid in Colorsync Utility?

    Some (not all) your symptoms also hint at the DMProxy bug, but I haven't seen that happen in a while and kind of assumed that one of the Tiger updates fixed it.
     
  10. plinkoman macrumors 65816

    plinkoman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    I know this sounds very windows like, but try rebooting. That happened to me once after I was messing around with some external displays and things were fine after a reboot.
     
  11. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #11
    I did and it found 2 profiles with errors (which it fixed).

    Tried that too! (was on windows not very long ago so, embarrassingly, was one of the first things I did :eek: ) But it didn't work.

    I really appreciate all of this help guys.

    I've just looked at my screen grab above (on my work computer now) and it looks pretty blue to me. Does anybody else concur?
     
  12. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #12
    The whites look normal (do screen grabs even capture this stuff?). PCs normally use a bluer profile, is that what you have at work?
     
  13. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #13
    I am using a PC at work, yes. I'm not sure if screen grabs do capture stuff (I thought that was down to what the display does with the image). Hmmm.
     
  14. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Having just read this part of your post iMeowbot I think you may be right. I was fast user switching at the time (it was just after I switched from another account that it went blue.) Will investigate...

    Thanks!
     
  15. crap freakboy macrumors 6502a

    crap freakboy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    nar in Gainsborough, me duck
    #15
    Your screengrab looks perfect on my screen so I'd suggest yer screen is buggered.
    Or your graphics card.
     
  16. farqueue macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
  17. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Nope, OS X is the only OS on my MacBook
     
  18. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #18
    Everything looks good on this end.

    Genius bar! Hurrah!


    The handsome people can help you! :D
     
  19. sunfast thread starter macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #19
    I did the DMProxy fix suggested above and I'm all sorted. Thank goodness. :)

    Many thanks for all the help
     

Share This Page