MacBook to MacBook Pro Question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by teerexx52, Aug 12, 2006.

  1. teerexx52 macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #1
    I have a MacBook with an Hitachi 7200 100GB drive in it. If I buy a MacBook pro can the 100gb drive be put into it or is that not possible? Thanks
     
  2. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #2
    It is possible, but a lot tougher than switching drives on the macbook.

    www.ifixit.com
     
  3. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #3
    As far as I know, you cant change the HD as a user upgradeable part. Only Apple Cert. Techs can. Im sure if you take it down to your Apple store, they'll inform you. Or phone up. OR wait till someone else posts :p
     
  4. teerexx52 thread starter macrumors 68000

    teerexx52

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    Florida West Coast
    #4
    Thanks very much
     
  5. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #5
    Should I use my newfound invisibility to fight crime or for bad stuff?

    I am going to scream this link into your face one more time and then I hope you understand. http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/85.6.0.html
     
  6. Kane.Elson macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #6
    Umm, calm down ?
    When you take your notebook in for warrenty and it has obviously been opened by you with dents and bent bits then they are not required to service it. So unless you feel you can open it and change it over undamaged then doing it yourself isn't always the best idea.
     
  7. Shotgun Pete macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    #7
    the difficulty of uprgading computers is completely overrated, anyone with a little technical knowhow is able to do it. just dont worry about investing 20 bucks on one of those statice bracelets because from my experience they are pretty useless
     

Share This Page