macbook + Vista + CAD

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 2ms, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. 2ms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    #1
    I am buying either a MacBook or an iMac this week. However, I am a mechanical engineer who needs to use PC CAD software a lot (specifically, Pro/E -- comparable to Autocad).

    I hate to buy a copy of WindowsXP since it is so old, ugly, etc. and would makeup about 10% of the entire cost of the Mac I'll be buying despite only being used for one application!

    Therefore, I wonder whether or not just downloading the beta (& thus free) Vista RC2 would be a viable alternative. Can anyone tell me whether or not Vista RC2 would be a good substitute for buying XP just to run one application (Pro/E)??
     
  2. ddekker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Pro Engineer

    I don't know a ton about bootcamp, but as far as I know it does a full load of windows and works well; But Pro E is a very picky software package and PTC has not yet certified Vista, I'm not saying it won't run, but it certainly crashes enough on certified hardware/OS as is, if you do load it I would like to hear how it works out... I been using Pro E for about 12 years and Wildfire 2 is the best build I have used as far as stability goes.

    good luck,

    DD
     
  3. 2ms thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    #3
    I'll let u know if I go Vista but since I need to buy computer in next few days and be working in Pro/E immediately on it, I guess it's looking like I probably need to play it safe and go with XP. If anyone came on here and told me they did cad on Mac with Vista RC2 and it worked out great, then I would try the RC2 first but otherwise it's looking like XP :(

    By the way, I'm using WF3.0 and it seems very stable to me just like WF2.0 did. I was not aware that Pro/E had rep as u describe but I have only been using these two newest versions.

    Why have u not tried ProE on Mac? Clearly u are a major Pro E user and, by your participation on this forum, I assume you are a Mac user too.
     
  4. ddekker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    pro Engineer

    I would try Windows on my mac for Pro E but i'm too cheap to replace my 17" powerbook with an intel...lol... I'm torn on laptops.. I may be doing training for PTC so I would love a new macbook pro, but I guess being paid by PTC means I should use certified hardware... and I won't buy two laptops.. ohh the struggle...lol.. what part of the world and what industry are you in?


    DD
     
  5. Yoursh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #5
    I haven't run CAD on my Macbook but I have run XP and am currently running Vista RC2. My suggestion is to go with XP. I don't know how much ram CAD uses but Vista is struggles on my stock Macbook.(512Mb ram) XP ran alot smoother and quicker. Also, RC2 does suffer from the ocasional 'beta' issues like random programs quiting.

    I would say if your using it for job related use, your going to want as few issues as possible. Going with XP is the better choice(although the more exspensive one). Exspecially if you know the software your going to use is XP 'friendly', as oppose to RC2 were your not sure.
     

Share This Page