MacBook with Parallels and/or Fusion

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by majiklantrn, Dec 28, 2006.

  1. majiklantrn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #1
    Thinking about replacing my Thinkpad T43 with a Black Macbook and was just wondering the performance with Parallels and/or Fusion. Also how is the performance with Boot Camp?

    For extra credit, any people play WOW with their macbook?
     
  2. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    works on macbook pro just fine

    Not sure about the macbook, but I have a 2.16 GHz w/2 GB Ram macbook pro and parallels works great. I use the new convergence view that is really slick. It hides the windows desktop and instead show the windows start bar on the bottom and windows windows appear over the mac desktop.. It works very well. I play wow and get insane framerates. Over 80 FPS with everything turned up. I would not bother with boot camp unless you want to play windows games. If you do, plan on getting an external drive enclosure so that you can minimize how much internal disk space you will use for windows.

    Have not tried fusion.
     
  3. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #3

    RAM plays a big factor in this. I run parallels on my mid spec macbook with 1Gb of RAM and it's decent, but it definitely could do with more. I run parallels on a seperate monitor though, but it certainly does what I need it to do.
     
  4. majiklantrn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #4
    I looked at the macbook pro but thats too expensive for me. I'm just looking for a replacement for my Thinkpad T43. I'm looking at the macbook core 2 duo 2ghz with 2 gig of ram with 120gig drive. I need Parallels for my work stuff. I figured if WOW played ok on it that would be a plus. My machine right now is a Dell M1710.
     
  5. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    Parallels works great but it requires RAM. If you plan on running Parallels with other Mac programs open, I would recommend 2 gigs. of RAM. I have used Parallels since it was first released and *never* had a problem. If you have any questions about it, give me a shout.

    Oh yeah.....WoW is available for Mac so you don't have to run it through Parallels.
     
  6. majiklantrn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #6
    I didn't plan on running WOW in Parallels.. I read that patch 2.0 has Multi-threading OpenGL which did a lot for Frames Per Second. I just want to know what the current people with the macbook are getting with settings and FPS.

    I plan on having 2gigs of RAM.
     
  7. Pct1theory macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    yeah 2 gigs

    yeah i have a Blackbook with 2gigs of ram and i run parallels and it works fine, i would deff. reconmend 2 gigs of ram...
     

Share This Page