MacBook won't boot, stuck on Apple logo.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mattcam, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #1
    Hey,

    So this morning i turned on my alu macbook (2.0ghz, 2gb ram) and i'm stuck on the apple logo and spinny thing at the bottom, i've searched here and the apple site but can't find a solution. PLease help!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #2
    Do you have any devices plugged in, such as an external drive or an iPod? If so, remove them and try again.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #3
    Nothing is plugged in, the battery was full iniatially but after a i let it sit on that screen for a while its down to about half give or take.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #5
    Any idea how long booting through safe mode should take? its been about 15 mins of blue screen with the spinning thing underneath
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #6
    Ok so whats happening is the wheel at the bottom spins the mouse appears in the top left hand corner for a second, the screen blinks and the wheel reappears..... is this supposed to be happening?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #7
  8. macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Okay, shut down the Mac (hold down power key)
    Restart whilst holding down Command-S

    The screen should turn black and load some text

    At the prompt type

    fsck -fy and press Return

    Hopefully some repairs will be performed.

    At the prompt type

    reboot and press Return

    Cross your fingers ;)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #9
    the hard disk appears to be active, i can feel the vibration and its getting warm.

    so i should just let it run for the moment?
     
  10. DPA
    macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #10
    15 minutes wouldn't be long for me. It all depends on what type of files you have on you hard drive. About how many gigabytes of applications do you have? My MacBook Pro takes about 15-18 minutes to boot up in Safe Mode and I have a ton of intense applications like Final Cut Studio, Logic Studio, After Effects, Dreamweaver, Flash, MS Word (believe it or not, it's a pretty big app), Photoshop and others which adds up about 12GB plus another 20GB in music and media in iTunes and it has to load my files on my 3 external drives via FireWire 800. I doubt you have this many apps on a MacBook but it's possible.

    David
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #11
    You can always start up in verbose mode (hold down "apple" and "v"). This way you can see your computer loading. If it stops reporting, and the HDD spins down, then you may have some corrupted filesystems or something. Use the forums linked by the commenter above for more information about fixing this through disk utility and other means.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #12
    the biggest apps i have on it would be ms office and football manager 09. in terms of music video, maybe 30gb. it doesn't have to load anything from any external drives.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #13
    ok i did this and the exact same thing is happening again, with the blue screen loading then the mouse appearing for a second before flicking back to loading again....
     
  14. DPA
    macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #14
    MS Office is, in somewhat of a surprise, a suite of pretty big applications. How much RAM do you have on your MacBook and is it a SSD drive? I don't see how it is taking that long to boot up in Safe Mode. Did you get it to boot yet? I think you should try SoutherBoy's fix, it sounds like it will work to me.

    David
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #15
    Try booting using verbose mode as leodavinci0 suggests. Hopefully a message will help you diagnose better.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #16

    i've 2gb of ram and its the standard 160gb drive. i tried Southernboy's fix but to no avail.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #17
    I'll do that when i get home in a couple of hours, can't do anymore now as the battery is nearly gone, thanks for all the help, i'll post an update when i get home...
     
  18. DPA
    macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #18
    You are booting up to Mac OS X, right? There shouldn't be a blue screen when you boot in Safe Boot. I think you should try a Archive and Install. It's helpful if you have an external drive, FireWire especially. If you have a FireWire cable and another Mac, you could also try booting your MacBook to your other Mac. When you boot up hold the T key and your Mac should boot up to a screensaver with a moving FireWire logo. Make sure you have the FireWire cord running from your MacBook to your other Mac and then the MacBook should be shown as a drive on your other Mac. You can then copy files and even try to sort out the problem there. You can run Disk Utility on the MacBook too. Refer to this page for more information.

    David
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #19
    Sigh... Target Disk Mode on the MacBook.... you will be missed... :'(
     
  20. DPA
    macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #20
    Your right, I totally forgot there's no more FW ports on the new Unibody MacBook. That's a big sigh...

    David
     
  21. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #21
    Ok i'm doing this at the moment its skipping between a blue screen and a black screen, the black screen is saying that the time the computers name and a crash report number thats going up as the new crash screen pops up. Saved crash report to ....

    any other suggestions, should i do the pram or smc things yet should i?
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    #22
    Could you provide more info on what verbose mode is showing you? It should list several processes, and eventually get to one it either gets stuck on, or explicitly states this is what crashed. If it doesn't even get to the point of trying to load any processes, and instead just lists that a whole bunch of things are crashing, then this doesn't bode well, and may be a HDD reading problem (if in fact you didn't do anything to the computer to cause this error). I can't say until you provide more data.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #23
    i can't remember exactly what it said but i always stopped at the first line, and it had the 3 values at 0 0 0.

    do you know what i mean?
     
  24. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Dublin
    #24
    ok so i did an archive and install. that seems to have fixed the problem, i hope, is there anything i should do like run a diagnostic tool or something?

    i've already started with the updates.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #25
    It was just a general comment, not specifically to do with this issue. I wasn't sure what model the OP was using, so don't take that as a jibe :)
     

Share This Page