macbook wont eject DVD

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by baka chinko, Jun 2, 2006.

1. baka chinko macrumors newbie

baka chinko

I put this relly scratched DVD in my 2 day old macbook, and I can't eject it. When I start up, it just whines like it's trying to read the DVD and wont boot up. I just get a blank white screen. Any advice?

2. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

aaron.lee2006

I don't think a scracted disk would have anything to do with it. If you are just using the eject key try going in to OSX and manually eject the device in your options.

3. baka chinko thread starter macrumors newbie

baka chinko

The eject key is the top right on the keyboard? If so, then I pushed it a ton of times.

I can't boot up to do anyhting else. One time it booted, but it just gives me the greyish Apple screen without the apple. I'm sure you can tell I'm new to Mac.

4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Try holding the mouse button down (or the trackpad button) while you boot up. :)

5. baka chinko thread starter macrumors newbie

baka chinko

Ok, I'ma t work now, but I'll try later. Say it boots up, then what? It doesn't recognize anything. It just keeps trying to read it. so I can't put anything in the trash can. Is there another way?

6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Difficult to say, but if you're having trouble booting or using OSX normally, try starting in Safe Mode. :)

7. baka chinko thread starter macrumors newbie

baka chinko

So after I go to safe mode, then what? Nothing happens when I push the eject key, and since it can't recognize the dvd, it doesn't show up on the desktop.

8. realityisterror macrumors 65816

realityisterror

in safe mode, you could use "eject" or "eject cdrom"
    and make sure you use "shutdown -h now" instead of just cutting off the power.

9. fekimoki macrumors member

fekimoki

my friend had a very similiar problem as yours
    he inserted paper labeled dvd to macbook and the dvd wont come out.